We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice restaurant.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of de Luwte

de Luwte
Leliegracht 26/28, 1015 DG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
0031 20 6258548
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #206 of 2,317 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $22 - $29
Cuisines: Mediterranean, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Description: Restaurant De Luwte has been a well-known establishment located at the Leliegracht in Amsterdam for over 27 years. This winter, it has renewed the look.As soon as you walk in you feel the warmth. Warmth coming from the cosy fireplace, but also the natural colors and materials surrounding you. You find yourself amongst the locals and internationals. Enjoy a nice glass of red wine by the fireplace, a special diner with a view over the Leliegracht or taste different cocktails below our vertical garden.The name 'De Luwte' means 'out of the wind' or a 'sheltered place'. De Luwte is a calm, relaxing spot in the centre of Amsterdam where you can escape the bustle of the city into a cosy and relaxing place.We have an international menu with a nod to the Mediterrenaen kitchen. To everyone's wish our menu is an affordable, obtainable and interesting answer.
1 review
“Really nice restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

Bethetwice this week and it's just great. Great food and wonderful service.
Got both their Tournedos and the Tomahawk steak. Dessert was also great.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    84
    18
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great atmosphere, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

It was close to our hotel and on a wet wintry night we did not want to walk far. We had the lentil up start. Brilliant. Fish of the day was a small serving but adequate. Do not order the veal rib eye. It was almost I edible. Nog labour and very sinewy. Without a proper steak knife, impossible to cut. The cheese cake was special. Friendly service. Just stay away from the rib eye. Tip, the tournedos recommended for two actually suits three or four diners.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaker Heights, Ohio
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Superb Dining Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

By the time we graced de Luwte, our party had tasted some fine food. De Luwte excelled and exceeded our other experiences! The sauces and meat quality were all top-notch. You couldn't find a decor more comfortable yet current anywhere: candles, sparkling branches and holiday bulbs, birch tree and bird wallpaper = quiet perfection.

Iris the owner was chatty yet professional. The bar scene was hopping.

Do yourself a favor and book a table at de Luwte for that perfect Amsterevening.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hip Dining in Old Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

We had the pleasure of dining at De Luwte earlier this evening. The charming and warm decor was supported by delicious and innovative dishes. We were pleased by both a fish and a beef dish. The scallops could described as silky. The desserts measured equal to the entrees.

The owner, Iris, was very attentive to all diners.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I went with a bunch of colleagues to this restaurant. We had a very warm welcome from the waitress, the food was of a very high standard. The Cod was delicious, it would have been niver with some plain vegetables, next time I will ask. We will definately return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed de Luwte also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to de Luwte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage de Luwte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;