We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like Mamma's” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moeders

Moeders
Rozengracht 251, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
0031 20 626 7957
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #112 of 2,244 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Delray Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Just like Mamma's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We loved this quirky restaurant decorated ceiling to floor with framed photos of mothers. The food was delicious, service impeccable and a great value. We highly recommend for an authentic meal in Amsterdam.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    248
    237
    53
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Authentic dutch cuisine...with an interesting vibe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

If you are visiting Amsterdam for the first time you can't miss Moeders (Mothers) for its' authentic dutch cuisine and atmosphere. When this place first opened patrons were asked to bring their own utensils, plates, and drinking glasses....and a picture of their mother. All is on display today. There are no two place settings the same and the walls are crammed with pictures of everyone's mom! There's seating for about 50 so in high season it is recommended that you have a rezzy...and if it's hot...wear light clothing as it's not A/C'd. Food is plentiful, tasty, and of good value. We'd go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A visit to a real Dutch home kitchen!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Our last night in Amsterrdam, we visited Moeders as it was recommend in Fodors and were not disappointed. Even though we did not have a reservation, the waitress made a place for us inside the cozy, homey restaurant on the busy Rozengracht street. All the menu items are prepared as if you were in your Dutch Mothers kitchen, I had the barbecue ribs which were to die for, my husband had the green pea soup which I tried then I had to order one for me it was so delicious....do not miss it! My husband also had the potato, sausage and sour krout smash which he said was excellent. The beer was cold and the service was perfect. A must if you spend anytime in Amsterdam!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Dinner for two”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner at this restaurant and we liked it. The food was good, friendly staff and very unique the decoration, the walls are fill with mums fotographs. Althougth, we recomend reservation, we did not have one so we had dinner outside.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“No Dutch Mother Would Cook This Vile Stuff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I was blessed with a Dutch mother. Neither she nor her mother nor her mother's mother would step a foot in this disgusting place. The Dutch are known for being clean. This place is not. Dirty tables, cutlery etc. I started with the pea soup. Dutch pea soup is supposed to be thick and stew like. This was more like prison watery soup. It was served in a very chipped ceramic/tin bowl made in China. Ugh, lead anyone? I literally got heart burn from it. Then I made the mistake of ordering some kind of fowl (guinea hen?) which arrived on a chipped plate and was so overly done that it was difficult to chew. The only saving thing might have been the mashed potatoes but they were smothered in a gross tasting brown sauce. Service was bad. Run run run away from this place and don't think that this represents Dutch food!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moeders also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Been to Moeders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moeders, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.