We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious meal in an appealing location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Toscanini

Toscanini
Lindengracht 75, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
020-623-2813
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #675 of 2,322 Restaurants in Amsterdam
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Delicious meal in an appealing location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Although I was a bit concerned about visiting this restaurant - as there is such a big buzz about it - it was a really nice experience. Very good food, great service and the atmosphere quite interesting.

I hope I manage to make another visit soon and, would clearly recommend it. Booking in advance might be a good idea.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    50
    21
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lyme, New Hampshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“And send me back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Always a puzzle as to why a restaurant gets some bad comments amongst very favorable ones. Unrealistic expectations on the part of the diner? Bad hair day on the part of the waitress or waiter? Back in the days of the truly professional waiter, expressions of personal discontent would never be witnessed by a diner. Material for someone's doctoral thesis lurking there.
Whatever the case may be, for us this place was a gem and a relief from the overly rich, hyper-sauced diet we'd endured in Belgium the previous week. One might term the cuisine North Sea Italian: I had salt cod on polenta for a starter followed by orecchiette with octopus and broccoli raab cooked in oil, garlic, and anchovies. Somewhat daring mixtures, but the clear, clean taste of the main ingredient came straight through. Our waitress was outgoing, attentive, full of advice, and brought several samples when we couldn't decide on a wine. Wrap me up and mail me back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great tasting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Awesome 5 dishes tasting, pricey but worth it. Good quality, great service and relaxed atmosphere. I'd recommend this place for anyone on business.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“A Great Italian Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Toscanini is busy, but by accepting an early dinner time, my wife and I got in, and enjoyed a great table in the center, facing the kitchen. My favorite moment was when one of the chefs walked out with my dish to ensure I'd get it as quickly as possible. Being vegetarians, we both had pasta, (tagliatelle porcini and spaghetti rustic) and it was delicious, washed done with a very affordable (28 euros) bottle of Aglianico. Yum!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good service & food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We went there in October with 5 friends, and had a fantastic evening. Booking is essential, however we were told if you are willing to eat quite early or rather later, you have a better chance of getting a table. We had a fantastic waitress that explained the menu and specials very professionally. Prices of the wine as well as the food were reasonable. I will definitely go back again! Small negative is that it was extremely noisy where we were sitting due to the open plan design.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toscanini also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Toscanini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toscanini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.