We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was good, service slightly lacking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Welcome Vietnam Restaurant

Welcome Vietnam Restaurant
Geldersekade 56, 1012 BK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)
+31 020-638 62 34
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,384 of 2,486 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $20 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Red Light District
Newcastle upon Tyne
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Food was good, service slightly lacking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We had 3 starters, all very tasty. The chicken sate skewers were slightly dry. Main course, V88 was fab as was chicken with lemon grass and chill. Would recommend this place. Price was reasonable

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    21
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Rude staffs and unauthentic foods”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I have travelled extensively to Vietnam and tried Pho numerous times and the Pho in this restaurant tastes nothing like the real one! A real disappointing experience for the taste plus the rude attitude from the staffs left such a bad impression that I will definitely not go back there again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Food was good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I am not a Vietnamese specialist, so to me it tasted similar to Chinese food. Tried the crispy chicken which was tasty.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yzeures-sur-Creuse, France
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A winner every time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This Vietnamese restaurant is a must for us every time we visit Amsterdam. In contrast to all other Asian restaurants on the Zeedijk (it has an entrance here as well as on the Geldersekade), this restaurant is spacious, well aired and not crammed. Food is authentic and delicious every time, service is friendly, the menu extensive and affordable. It is frequented by both locals, tourists and Asian families, we have never reserved beforehand, and never had a problem getting a table (even on a Saturday night, when Amsterdam restaurants all seem to be fully booked). Highly recommended, also for non-connaisseurs of Vietnamese food, all is well explained.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
338 reviews 338 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 145 cities Reviews in 145 cities
343 helpful votes 343 helpful votes
“Just plain good food, not expensive, lovely service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Okay it is not the cosiest restaurant I have ever been to, but they do know how to cook! Nice and fresh food, authentic vietnamese cuisine, love the smoothies! The soups are great.
Staff is lovely, even if they don't understand you. They are quick and very forthcoming. The restaurant is near the trainstation, so comfortable ifr you want to leave town after dinner. Also a lot of bars near for a drink afterwards. We always leave satisfied!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Welcome Vietnam Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Welcome Vietnam Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Welcome Vietnam Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.