We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Segugio

Segugio
Utrechtsestraat 96, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)
020 3301503
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #705 of 2,283 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $53 - $194
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Rembrandtplein
Description: Segugio is Italiaans voor speurder en is ook de naam van de hond die truffels opspoort. Het restaurant is gevestigd in een karakteristiek pand in de Utrechtsestraat in het centrum van Amsterdam. Het restaurant beschikt over twee verdiepingen waar gegeten kan worden. De tafels staan op ruime afstand van elkaar, waardoor men veel privacy heeft tijdens het eten. Segugio heeft een open keuken, waar onder andere de pasta, het brood en het ijs zelf bereidt wordt. Naast de vaste kaart is een dagelijks wisselende soep, risotto, vis en menu van de chef. De wijnkaart van dit Italiaanse restaurant bevat uitsluitend Italiaanse wijnen.
1 review
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

We came in without a reservation on a friday night and had a wonderful set 4course meal with a Wine menu. Everything tasted great and every dish and Wine was explained Well. We were not rushed and had time to enjoy each course.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    29
    14
    9
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
utrecht
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Expensive Italian restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Good service, nice location, and very good wine options. The pasta as first dish was good but not very tasty (pasta with egg and trufle). The main dish was terrific (parelhoenfilet, guinea fowl). The desert was disappointing (pastry with amarena). The very high prices suggest a more refined, more special kitchen. Very high rating in the reviews is surprising.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fine Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We went there as part of the restaurant week which gets organized every so often to stimulate people to frequent a place that might otherwise be found too costly. This fine restaurant is located on the Utrechtsestraat with many other places to eat and drink. Like most people we had the set menu and were not disappointed. The service and ambiance were pleasant and we will certainly go back again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good but pricey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We ate excellent food. We were told that the cheapest option was the 'menu du jour' which was a set menu with four courses at a price of 50 euros per person! Food was excellent and original. The staff is very friendly and passionate.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Must Have Been an Off Night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

My husband and I found Segugio as we walked down Utrechtsestraat. The menu looked interesting and the interior nice so we decided to give it a try. We did not have a reservation but were immediately shown to a nice table on the 2nd floor. We ordered wine, bread was brought to the table and we each ordered the soup of the day and an entree. A bruschetta was served as an amuse bouche and it was delicious. Our soup arrived and it was a gastronomic disaster of
brown pureed beans with a nest of shredded cabbage in the center with a langostine perched on top. The flavors just did not work together and the presentation was unappealing. Priced at 17 Euro we had much higher expectations.

My entree was the fish of the day a brill which was totally bland and laid over a combination of vegetables and mushrooms. Again, the mushrooms did nothing to complement or enhance the fish. A rather odd choice in my opinion. At 30 Euro it was a real disappointment

My husband's spaghetti with calamari and seafood had more eye appeal but not particularly flavorful. Better priced, however, at 19 Euro.

We opted out of dessert as the rest of the meal was so uninspired and were surprised to see that the downstairs was totally packed. Either we chose the wrong menu items or the kitchen was having a off night judging from the other glowing reviews. But it was unquestionably the worst dinner we had of the four nights we were in Amsterdam.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Segugio also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Segugio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Segugio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.