We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taverna Barcelona

Taverna Barcelona
Saenredamstraat 37, 1072CB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 664 00 66
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #638 of 2,333 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $11 - $34
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
Good for: Outdoor seating
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Ergue-Gaberic, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

A Very warm welcome, smile, excellent sangria and tapas! A bit of catalunya in netherlands. Don't hesitate a second

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Don't miss it! Real Catalan food in the heart of Amsterdam (pijp). The food is fresh authentic, atmosphere perfect, the guys running it are very nice. When we miss Barcelona we eat there and for many other reasons

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“The best food straight from Catalunya.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Excellent wines and cavas from the land, very nice people, good and fresh food…
I truly recommend it.
Enjoy!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Authentic catalán”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

We've been going here for many years now, sitting outside on the sunny terrace and enjoying excellent cava or some really great wines (try the 2003 Montsant DO!) alongside very good quality small and larger dishes in the style of the owners' homeland Catalonia. The espresso and the brandies are also very good as well.

The interior is pleasantly decorated, cozy, with an inviting warmth and a melange of smells.

The taverna offers good value - all its products are of very good quality and the prices reasonable.

The owners are very friendly and knowledgeable about their wines and food (and I'm sure about football as well, should you be interested in that).

Wholeheartedly recommended!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unique and cozy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

This is not a regular tapas place, but a very specialized one (in catalán style food) i am a spanish expat living in the city and i can only say good things about taverna Barcelona . The quality of the food and the wine makes me feel home. ask for a tortilla catalana and let this guys surprise you!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Barcelona also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Taverna Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taverna Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.