We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of WestViolet Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added WestViolet Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com
WestViolet Bed & Breakfast
Violettenstraat 4, Amsterdam 1015 NP, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 297 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
notwich
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Superb Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

All attractions within walking distance. Many good restaurants within a few minutes. Frank was a great host, very laid back. We loved being able to have use of the kitchen at any time. Frank kept it well stocked.Would certainly return and can highly recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in the upstairs room, stairs were no trouble. Spotlessly clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
53
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

My lovely Dutch friend Karen found the delightful West Violet for me for our fun three day visit in Amsterdam. She told met hat as a New Yorker, I would adore the Jordaan district of the city and she was right!! West Violet is a stone's throw from the Noordermarkt and right off Westerstraat where there are charming shops and the best apple pie in Amsterdam at Winkel. Andre was on duty and was a delight. I was in the second floor, large bedroom with a balcony and right outside the cosy kitchen where all kinds of delicious breakfast treats are available on your schedule! the room was beautifully appointed with a chic style and comfort. Bed was excellent and wonderful linens. I can't wait to return!

Room Tip: There are only two rooms and both are wonderful. the one on the. Ground floor may be slightly large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorrento
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Plus : location in the hearth of the Joordan quartier, very large and cosy room,excellent self-service breakfast,very kind staff (thank you Andre'), good price-quality ratio for Amsterdam standards.Well linked to the center(tram from Marnixplatz or simply 15 mins of walk).
Minus : bathroom not very large and with separated basin(in the main room), quite steep stairs.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We had a perfect 2 night stay at the end of Oct at this B&B. Our host (Andre?) was very friendly and helpful.

The B&B is in a wonderful neighborhood (Jordan District I believe), 5 minutes from Ann Franks house, 10 minutes from Dam Square and close to some really nice restaurants.

The beds are are very comfortable and the breakfast is delicious.

It's also very reasonable priced so I highly recommend staying here when you visit Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Any room is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

What a great place to stay! Frank, the owner, could not be more helpful, welcoming and friendly. My room was fabulous, exceptionally clean, spacious beyond belief, great en-suite. Also contained a fridge and separate sink unit...very useful, especially for longer stays. Breakfast facilities? Great idea....help yourself to the lovely kitchen and it's facilities. Frank supplies breakfast for all dietary needs and you can cook your own food there in the evenings if you require. Great value for money in my opinion and I would highly recommend it to anyone reading this! I shall certainly return and tell my friends about West Violet B&B.
Thank you Frank!

Room Tip: Well obviously rooms are available subject to availability...but judging by the owner's standard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We were lucky enough to have the huge downstairs room. Room had lots of Marilyn Munroe pictures on the walls. Renee & Andrea perfect hosts, very helpful, both spoke excellent English. Help yourself to tea & coffee in the kitchen, steep stairs to kitchen above our room. Food in the fridge make your own breakfast or a snack if you wish. No tea & coffee making facilities in actual room but did have a fridge. Few minutes walk to canal. Got taxi from central station to accommodation 8 euro. Laundromat across the road. Perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Wonderful quaint but modern accommodation, quiet, safe, pretty area, would strongly recommend this to all.

We walked every where, 15 mins from Central Station, only 5mins to Anne Frank museum.
Other reviews have covered it perfectly so will say no more.
Thanks Frank.

Room Tip: If you have a problem with steep stairs then ask for the ground floor. (but also did not visit the A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to WestViolet Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestViolet Bed & Breakfast

Also Known As:
Westviolet Hotel Amsterdam
Westviolet Bed And Breakfast
Westviolet Hotel
Address: Violettenstraat 4, Amsterdam 1015 NP, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 297 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your WestViolet Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WestViolet Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.