We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of WestViolet Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added WestViolet Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
WestViolet Bed & Breakfast
Violettenstraat 4, 1015 NP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 302 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Florida
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We had a perfect 2 night stay at the end of Oct at this B&B. Our host (Andre?) was very friendly and helpful.

The B&B is in a wonderful neighborhood (Jordan District I believe), 5 minutes from Ann Franks house, 10 minutes from Dam Square and close to some really nice restaurants.

The beds are are very comfortable and the breakfast is delicious.

It's also very reasonable priced so I highly recommend staying here when you visit Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Any room is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
59
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

What a great place to stay! Frank, the owner, could not be more helpful, welcoming and friendly. My room was fabulous, exceptionally clean, spacious beyond belief, great en-suite. Also contained a fridge and separate sink unit...very useful, especially for longer stays. Breakfast facilities? Great idea....help yourself to the lovely kitchen and it's facilities. Frank supplies breakfast for all dietary needs and you can cook your own food there in the evenings if you require. Great value for money in my opinion and I would highly recommend it to anyone reading this! I shall certainly return and tell my friends about West Violet B&B.
Thank you Frank!

Room Tip: Well obviously rooms are available subject to availability...but judging by the owner's standard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We were lucky enough to have the huge downstairs room. Room had lots of Marilyn Munroe pictures on the walls. Renee & Andrea perfect hosts, very helpful, both spoke excellent English. Help yourself to tea & coffee in the kitchen, steep stairs to kitchen above our room. Food in the fridge make your own breakfast or a snack if you wish. No tea & coffee making facilities in actual room but did have a fridge. Few minutes walk to canal. Got taxi from central station to accommodation 8 euro. Laundromat across the road. Perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Wonderful quaint but modern accommodation, quiet, safe, pretty area, would strongly recommend this to all.

We walked every where, 15 mins from Central Station, only 5mins to Anne Frank museum.
Other reviews have covered it perfectly so will say no more.
Thanks Frank.

Room Tip: If you have a problem with steep stairs then ask for the ground floor. (but also did not visit the A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

After searching a number or websites for accommodation in Amsterdam I chose to stay at Westviolet due to the excellent reviews and the location. Booking via their own website is quick and easy.

Having previously stayed in a modern hotel right in the city centre, I wanted to try something a little more traditional which both Westviolet and Jordaan proved to be.

The B&B location was ideal, being a short tram ride and walk from the Centraal Station. Jordaan is a fascinating area to visit with some great architecture, cafés, restaurants ( Seasons was first class ), book shops and galleries. It felt friendly, relaxed and safe.

As for the accommodation itself - I couldn't fault it. I was staying in the ground floor section which was nicely self contained from the other floors. The decor was modern and looked fresh. The furniture was an eclectic mix of new and antique whilst the large double bed was very, very comfortable. The room was extremely clean, so to was the en-suite which is equipped with a shower and WC. Plenty of hot water and plenty of towels available. The sink is located in the main room which is a little unconventional but not inconvenient. The place has character and charm.

Breakfast was available in the first floor kitchen - a light and airy room at the front of the building - again, an extremely clean area to eat in, with all mod cons. There was a great selection of cereals, juices, breads, preserves, tea, coffee and a well stocked fridge. All the kitchen facilities are shared with the other guests ( there is another guest room on the first floor ) and the Argentinian couple who were also staying there made breakfast both interesting and entertaining.

As for the host, what can I say ! Frank was a mine of information when it came to planning the days events. He was a charming and attentive host - always appeared unobtrusively during breakfast for a chat ( accompanied more often than not by his little canine companion ) to ensure that everything was going well. Very much the right man, with the right manner, in the right job.....

I don't usually post long reviews but feel the need to on this occasion as Westviolet has to be one of the best B&B's that I have had the pleasure to stay in. The other reviews say it all.

Looking forward to a return visit....

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We picked this B&B because of the great reviews online. We can't add anything else to the first rate comments already recorded except to say that it is all true! Frank is a very natural and welcoming host who offers first rate accommodation and hospitality. A truly lovely place to stay in a very safe and hip area. For places to eat just around the corner, check out Los Pilones and the Barking Fish for cherry beer and a great atmosphere. Frank even fixed the weather for us!

Room Tip: There are only 2 rooms, the one upstairs is accessed by steep stairs and next door to guest kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Where do I begin? From the moment we arrived, Frank made us so welcome. There are two rooms at the property and both are beautifully presented. Unlimited hot hot water, which is great after a day pounding the streets of Amsterdam.

The West Violet is located in a perfect, quiet location for visiting all the attractions and there are excellent restaurants, cafés and bars within a minute's walk. We were spoilt for choice in the evenings to decide where to eat. Fortunately enough Frank was on hand to offer advice and recommendations.

The bed was so comfortable, I didn't want to leave it. Our room was really peaceful and had a lovely little courtyard garden, where you could hear the church bells chime. It was bliss!

My husband and I made good use of Frank's kitchen, which was always well stocked and Frank catered for our every need. We met some lovely guests from all over the world during our stay.

My husband and I have visited Amsterdam on several occasions and have opted for hotels. Never again after meeting Frank and his wee dog Lara Luna (who is the cutest little dog I have ever had the pleasure to meet). Frank's welcome and hospitality made us feel that we were visiting a close friend, however he didn't intrude at any time and was the soul of discretion. It was great to have a chat back and forth and Frank is really knowledgable, funny and interesting and our time at the West Violet flew by. We were really sorry to leave after our five day stay.

If you are thinking about booking the West Violet, I would recommend that you contact Frank direct as you get better rates than making your reservation through booking.com. His website is info@westviolet.nl and he usually responds immediately. We'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to WestViolet Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestViolet Bed & Breakfast

Address: Violettenstraat 4, 1015 NP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 302 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your WestViolet Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westviolet Hotel Amsterdam
Westviolet Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WestViolet Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.