We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of WestViolet Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added WestViolet Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
WestViolet Bed & Breakfast
Violettenstraat 4, Amsterdam 1015 NP, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 297 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We loved Amsterdam and also going home to a welcoming West Violet each evening. The quiet, yet central location made it ideal and we walked almost everywhere as everything, including Central Station and the main museums and galleries were under a half hour walk. The B&B is on a quiet pedestrian side street, a minute's walk from a canal and an outdoor market. Lots of restaurants nearby. Frank House is just up the canal a block or two, where a canal boat stop can also be found.
Our host made us feel very welcome, was readily available, yet didn't intrude and allowed us to prepare what we wished at leisure in the cheerful, well-appointed breakfast room. He also got my husband prompt medical attention when he needed it, which was much appreciated. Our room was clean and very spacious and well equipped, with a comfortable bed. We loved coming home after a day of exploring and enjoying a glass of wine on our little balcony overlooking the central garden. We would have loved to have extended our stay, and recommend B&B West Violet.

Room Tip: The two rooms are both excellent: one adjacent to the breakfast room upstairs with a balcony, the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
52
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Collingwood, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stay at WestViolet at least once/year and have recommended it to friends as well. Great rooms with a well stocked kitchen and great location. Super, friendly service from owner Frank including an unexpected drive to Centraal to catch our train on our last visit. I recommend WestViolet to anyone looking for a fabulous stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed for one night at West Violet. Arrived extremely tired and frazzled after a fiasco with new train Fyra from Brussels. Came in late having missed a day of appointments! And then, soothing and caring Frank was there. All of a sudden, there was the intimate kitchen, the kettle, the tea, fresh bread, great cheese and ham, a big cozy room, great linen. I slept like a log and the next day Frank helped me to re-schedule appointments, organize local transport, get me maps and directions while making me divine coffee - he is charming, knowlegeable, worldly, cultured, funny and has an adorable pooch called Lara Luna! His little house is in a lovely area, shops and restaurants nearby. But the big attraction is...Frank!

Room Tip: My room next to kitchen was a bit noisy when other guests came in to have a drink. May just have bee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We were more than happy with our stay at WestViolet and will recommend this place to everyone visiting Amsterdam. A perfect place to stay over a long weekend. The room - or more like a studio apartment with small garden - was nicely decorated, spacious and very clean. Frank, the host is such a nice and helpful man, he made us feel very welcomed. Nice breakfast with lovely fresh croissants. The location is perfect: I really recommend Jordaan if you want to see local way of living and avoid the more touristic city center. Cool and beautiful neighborhood with lots of restaurants, small shops, bars, cafés, farmers markets... You can walk easily to everywhere from here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

So where shall we begin? Let’s start with the most important asset of the West Violet, Frank our host. Frank is a charming, genial man who makes you feel very welcome. We had the pleasure of chatting over a coffee in the well stocked and very clean kitchen during our break at this lovely B&B. Frank was very helpful and we enjoyed the hints and tips he shared regarding our trip. He recommended some lovely places and you won’t have to go far to find them. Jordaan is a lovely part of Amsterdam and the Violet is situated in a nice quiet area within this Bohemian, leftfield and arty corner. We spent quite a lot of our time in this area as the bars, cafes and funky shops are frequented mainly by Dutch people and we love sampling the culture and immersing ourselves in a little bit of ‘authenticity’. Back to the Violet so let’s look at some of the other plus points. We stayed in the ground floor room which is very nice. It has a giant and very comfortable bed (which was a major plus after all the walking we did!). The furniture is very tasteful and there is no noise. Our room as with the whole of the house was as warm as toast. This helped us to dry off when we returned after a morning of sight -seeing in the rain. The room and house are very secure. We had access to the kitchen whenever we wanted which was nice as we had a few drinks and snacks during our stay. There are a wide variety of breads, beverages, cereals which you can help yourself to. There is another guest room which is on the same floor as the kitchen. We were glad we stayed on the ground floor as it seemed more private. Frank lives in the two rooms above. There are a few things which would add to the pleasure of the stay. There is no sink in the bathroom which is a bit strange. This said, Frank informed us that this was being addressed at some point in the future. The back yard would benefit from some love and care and a face lift particularly if the weather was nice and you wanted to sit in the fresh air. Other than these two things we found the whole experience very satisfying. We felt like we had our own posh apartment in a very pretty area which is free from the tourist trap but not too far from the major attractions. One thing to bear in mind and this is not a criticism. If you have mobility problems you probably won’t be able to get up and down the steep stairs which connect to the kitchen and other guest room. This is a fixture found in all traditional Dutch homes and in our opinion adds to the charm and character of this fab place. Thanks Frank. One final tip- it is possible to book directly by e-mailing the West Violet. This way you don’t have to pay additional fees which are added on by operators meaning you get to save money which is always a plus!

Room Tip: the ground floor room is the better choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This B&B is so comfortable and the breakfast arrangements allow you to get up and eat when you like. Very chilled out- like being at home! Great care to detail, friendly, helpful hosts and a great location in the Jordaan with lots of lovely bars and restaurants. I may have stayed here a few times!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This was an excellent choice of accommodation for our three night stay. We were made to feel really welcome. Our room was very spacious, spotlessly clean and with a comfortable king size bed. We particularly liked the informal and relaxed atmosphere and having the use of the kitchen whenever we wanted was a great idea. Frank was so friendly and helpful and made us feel very much at home.
The location was excellent, only being a short walk from the station and near to lots of interesting shops, cafes and restaurants. In spite of this, it was very quiet with no noise at all at night.
We would highly recommend WestViolet.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to WestViolet Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestViolet Bed & Breakfast

Also Known As:
Westviolet Hotel Amsterdam
Westviolet Bed And Breakfast
Westviolet Hotel
Address: Violettenstraat 4, Amsterdam 1015 NP, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 297 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your WestViolet Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WestViolet Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.