We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Amsterdam !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of WestViolet Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added WestViolet Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
WestViolet Bed & Breakfast
Violettenstraat 4, 1015 NP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 322 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“True Amsterdam !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed here for 3 fantastic nights . The room is spotlessly clean and we were welcomed by Andre who looked after us so well throughout our stay . We stayed on the first floor and felt at home straight away - the well stocked kitchen was adjacent and we helped ourselves to cereals , toast , cheese , ham ,eggs tea and coffee etc at all times of the day . The area of Jordaan is safe and friendly and contains many lovely bars cafes and restaurants . The icing on the cake was the hospitality of Andre - he lent us his bikes without charge , he brought us fresh croissants early in the morning and he even bought us some beer !!! Thanks again Andre we will definitely be back and would recommend this to anyone

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
69
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
82 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We just spent 5 nights here and it was great.Frank was away at the beginning but his partner was an excellent substitute.We arrived early morning in the rain and he welcomed us with coffee and the loan of large umbrellas.Our room was large, clean and serviced regularly. The 24hr availability of food in the kitchen was amazing.We could access fruit, bread, buns, cheese, bacon and eggs, juice at any time.The host asked what we would like him to get for us from the supermarket. He went out for fresh croissants early every morning.There are lots of guidebooks and free internet access We like the area the house is in as it is more suburban and less touristy than other places and very quiet. Once we got our sense of direction, we realised it is close to many places. Tram is 5 mins walk, station is 20mins walk. There are restaurants and a bakery in the next street. The local Sat street market is amazing.We thoroughly recommend this home.

Room Tip: Either room would be fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithuania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

An apartment was absolutely great, comfortable and very clean. Fresh bagels brought by host Frank every morning. Our first floor apartment had a lovely balcony facing the inner garden. The district of Jordan - fabulous, full of galleries, boutiques, all kinds of restaurants..really different atmosphere comparing with the touristic centre.
Would sincerely recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Located in a lovely old house in a quiet neighbourhood with shops and cafes just around the corner. We stayed in the room on the first floor - which was really large, clean and comfortable. Frank, the owner, was very friendly and helpful with suggestions and directions. The kitchen is always available and stocked with basics - and Frank brings in fresh bakery items in the morning! We highly recommend the WestViolet, but there are only two rooms - so book early!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Immensely enjoyed the Jordaan area and my stay at WestViolet for one week February 2012. Frank Nolen is an amazing, kind person who truly gets the meaning of hospitality. His care and attention to detail and quality is evident, plus he is so helpful while being completely respectful and non-intrusive. I felt completely at ease and at home. His B+B is nicely furnished, impeccably clean, comfortable bed, perfect amenities, great shower, lovely balcony and garden, really great (overstocked, in fact!) DIY breakfast kitchen. The Jordaan area is so lively during the day and so peaceful at night. Just perfect in every way, stayed in many B+B's, this was my best experience ever...great value + I will be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

Splendid location in the Jordan district. Spacious room (we stayed at the first floor), well equipped kitchen free to use 24/7. Great host - Frank brought us fresh bakery every morning.
Clean, big and cosy rooms.
We'll be back!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SG
Level Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

I had booked the WestViolet based on two things, that it had good reviews from most travelers specifically comments on how helpful and friendly Frank Nolen is and also the fact that it seemed to be pretty booked up in general (although having only two studios to lease out could mean it can get booked up fairly easily). And as it turned out, the place was by and large what was expected and it was really an extremely nice stay that we had while there. Frank's friendly, the area is quiet. The studio on the ground floor we had, felt like home. Large enough, so comfortable and it even has a little patio/garden (for those who smoke as it's non smoking indoors) which must be truly lovely in summer. Kitchen is 24x7 with a big variety of breads, jams, eggs, ham/salami, juices, etc. (DIY). And it's central, you really could walk from the central station if you wanted to.

It made our stay in Amsterdam truly relaxing even in the 0 degree weather!

Room Tip: Book early, there are only two rooms. The upper room is smaller but is also where the kitchen is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 355 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,787 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#9 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 833 reviews
citizenM Amsterdam
#39 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WestViolet Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestViolet Bed & Breakfast

Address: Violettenstraat 4, 1015 NP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 322 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your WestViolet Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westviolet Hotel Amsterdam
Westviolet Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WestViolet Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.