We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of WestViolet Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added WestViolet Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
WestViolet Bed & Breakfast
Violettenstraat 4, 1015 NP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“a great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We just spent 5 nights here and it was great.Frank was away at the beginning but his partner was an excellent substitute.We arrived early morning in the rain and he welcomed us with coffee and the loan of large umbrellas.Our room was large, clean and serviced regularly. The 24hr availability of food in the kitchen was amazing.We could access fruit, bread, buns, cheese, bacon and eggs, juice at any time.The host asked what we would like him to get for us from the supermarket. He went out for fresh croissants early every morning.There are lots of guidebooks and free internet access We like the area the house is in as it is more suburban and less touristy than other places and very quiet. Once we got our sense of direction, we realised it is close to many places. Tram is 5 mins walk, station is 20mins walk. There are restaurants and a bakery in the next street. The local Sat street market is amazing.We thoroughly recommend this home.

Room Tip: Either room would be fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
62
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lithuania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

An apartment was absolutely great, comfortable and very clean. Fresh bagels brought by host Frank every morning. Our first floor apartment had a lovely balcony facing the inner garden. The district of Jordan - fabulous, full of galleries, boutiques, all kinds of restaurants..really different atmosphere comparing with the touristic centre.
Would sincerely recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Located in a lovely old house in a quiet neighbourhood with shops and cafes just around the corner. We stayed in the room on the first floor - which was really large, clean and comfortable. Frank, the owner, was very friendly and helpful with suggestions and directions. The kitchen is always available and stocked with basics - and Frank brings in fresh bakery items in the morning! We highly recommend the WestViolet, but there are only two rooms - so book early!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Immensely enjoyed the Jordaan area and my stay at WestViolet for one week February 2012. Frank Nolen is an amazing, kind person who truly gets the meaning of hospitality. His care and attention to detail and quality is evident, plus he is so helpful while being completely respectful and non-intrusive. I felt completely at ease and at home. His B+B is nicely furnished, impeccably clean, comfortable bed, perfect amenities, great shower, lovely balcony and garden, really great (overstocked, in fact!) DIY breakfast kitchen. The Jordaan area is so lively during the day and so peaceful at night. Just perfect in every way, stayed in many B+B's, this was my best experience ever...great value + I will be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011 via mobile

Splendid location in the Jordan district. Spacious room (we stayed at the first floor), well equipped kitchen free to use 24/7. Great host - Frank brought us fresh bakery every morning.
Clean, big and cosy rooms.
We'll be back!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SG
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

I had booked the WestViolet based on two things, that it had good reviews from most travelers specifically comments on how helpful and friendly Frank Nolen is and also the fact that it seemed to be pretty booked up in general (although having only two studios to lease out could mean it can get booked up fairly easily). And as it turned out, the place was by and large what was expected and it was really an extremely nice stay that we had while there. Frank's friendly, the area is quiet. The studio on the ground floor we had, felt like home. Large enough, so comfortable and it even has a little patio/garden (for those who smoke as it's non smoking indoors) which must be truly lovely in summer. Kitchen is 24x7 with a big variety of breads, jams, eggs, ham/salami, juices, etc. (DIY). And it's central, you really could walk from the central station if you wanted to.

It made our stay in Amsterdam truly relaxing even in the 0 degree weather!

Room Tip: Book early, there are only two rooms. The upper room is smaller but is also where the kitchen is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

The bed and breakfast is in a fantastic location, not far from the Anne Frank House and a lot of lovely shops and cafes. There is a lively market at the end of the main street on Saturday mornings. The walk from the train station is not too long either - we did it with our hand luggage quite easily.

The room was clean and comfortable with a small balcony. There is everything else you would expect although there's no wardrobe, just a place to hang some hangers, and some shelves. It was very convenient to be able to make our own breakfast in the morning, especially as we had to leave early to get to the airport. On our first morning fresh croissants were left for us but not on the other two days. We were able to use the kitchen at other times as well and as there is a supermarket just around the corner, we popped back and made our own lunch one day.

Unfortunately, I found it quite expensive but this is probably true of most of the decent accommodation in Amsterdam as the exchange rate is pretty terrible at the moment.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to WestViolet Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestViolet Bed & Breakfast

Address: Violettenstraat 4, 1015 NP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your WestViolet Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westviolet Bed And Breakfast
Westviolet Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WestViolet Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.