We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful steak” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Loetje

Cafe Loetje
Johannes Vermeerstraat 52, 1071 DT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)
+31 20 662 8173
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #78 of 2,459 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Museumplein
UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We knew this restaurant would be good when we saw the queues of people outside. We went early for our meal and following advice from the waitress we chose the steak. We were not disappointed. This steak was tasty, beautifully tender and of ample proportion. The restaurant was soon full, and again people were queing as we left. If you want a fantastic,value for money meal, then visit Loetje but go early.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    214
    44
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Overrated beyond credibility”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I live in Amsterdam and was given a recco by a local friend to try this place, never again. Waited ages for a table, waited ages for service, when the 'steak' appeared I was not sure whether I should eat it or lace it up. Service was scheidt, atmos was loud but OK. Plenty of better places in the fine city than this utter khazi,

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Steak, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

If you are not in a hurry, this is a great place to go. It combines going out for a drink with having dinner. Since you can't make a reservation, you have a drink and hang out while you wait for a table. Steaks are excellent. I love the Bali steak (a bit spicy). The salmon wonton appetiser is also very tasty. The salad is fresh, but the dressing is not of my liking. However, I have had similar salads in Amsterdam so maybe it's a traditional dutch style salad.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“cozy steakhouse for locals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Contrary to the typical steakhouse in town, they only serve one cut of beef and only au jus and Bali sauce. Try the mushroom salad, which has a nice zing to it.

The place was good enough, I went there two nights in a row.

Reservations for 6+ pax only, but it moves quickly and the bar is efficient while you wait.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Carnivore's paradise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Without a doubt some of the best beer and steak I've ever had the pleasure of sitting down to. The decor and atmosphere is relaxed and there is ample bar space in which to enjoy a local beer while waiting for a table. This is the epitome of simple but very good food. We will definitey visit again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Loetje also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Cafe Loetje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Loetje, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.