We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tokyo Cafe - CLOSED

Tokyo Cafe
Spui 15, 1012WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)
+31 20 489 7918
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $11 - $33
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Centrum
Description: Located in the central Amsterdam within the walking distance from Kalverstraat. The restaurant can be reach via tram 2, 9, 4, 16 and 24 from centraal station.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Really good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed this restaurant. We have the cheaper all you can eat option and tried a lot of different types of sushi.

We would definitely go back here.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    45
    12
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kudelstaart, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Place to avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Terrible terrible service: they don't know what customer service is. And double check the bill! Probably they will charge you an extra bottle of wine you never ordered...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uithoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It could be better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

It is not bad if you go with a group of friends after having a few drinks (that means half drunk and you just look for something to fill your stomach with... although in that case I would choose the Febo). We were a group of 8 and had difficulties to fit around the table, which was far too small.

It is an "all you can eat" type of restaurant, but the system doesn't really work; you really need to pay extra attention or you will miss some (or many) of the dishes you order. You can order as much dishes as you want every round, but most of us just made it to the fourth round ordering 5 dishes per round. Most of the restaurants that have this system in place offer a way to track what you ordered during every round (paper with a line for every round, with small drawings of every dish), so that if you miss some dish you can prove it by simply pointing it out in the list. This restaurant doesn't have such a system, meaning that there is no way for you to prove that you are missing some dish; some of us even missed 4 out of 5 dishes in some round...

The food was nothing special; the menu said chicken, but it didn't look like chicken, didn't smell like chicken and didn't taste like chicken... I hope, at least, that whatever that was it came out of an egg. The rice of the sushi was poor, and the fish not really fresh.

The service was not good, but you cannot really blame them when they have loads of tables to serve and the system itself doesn't help at all. I guess they did their best. We were kicked out at 22.30 sharp, some of us still had some beer left. In their favor, I have to say that at least they kicked us out with good manners.

They need to change the system they have and treat people a bit better (like human beings, instead of like cattle).
This was the second time that we were there, to see if something had changed after our visit the year before, but it is still the same. There won't be a third.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Just as good as first time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

It had been 4 years since I returned to this restaurant and I have to say that the quality of the sushi is just as good as I remembered. Having noticed that there are more of this all you can eat restaurants in Amsterdam than my last visit, I wasn't really sure which one to go to.

I have made reservation both here and at the Genki. Both being literally the same distance from the hotel we are staying we both decided to go back to what we know best and besides, the slow service at Genki mentioned in some reviews has put me off a bit!

Service here is quick and cheerful, we both went for the deluxe menu at £27.80 per head and drinks are reasonably priced too.

I'm not sure if the service here varies depending on how busy they are, but just to give you an idea, we went on a Tuesday evening and table booked for 8:15pm, we were shown to our table straight away, the restaurant wasn't that full, not sure if it had to do with the fact that Holland was playing against Turkey for the World Cup Qualifying stages ( although Holland is through already!).

Anyway, thanks for another wonderful meal! Hope I don't have to wait another 4 years to return!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Lucija, Malta
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Japanese Buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

we went to try this restaurant and we where satisfied with most of the food (the lamb chops where cooked perfectly) and the sashimi was very fresh overall a very delightful experience and will definitely try and visit again with my fiancee :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tokyo Cafe also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tokyo Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.