We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restuarant - we loved the food and the people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Semhar

Semhar
Marnixstraat 259, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
Improve this listing
Ranked #187 of 2,251 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $15 - $22
Cuisines: Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Jordaan
American in Cambridge
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent restuarant - we loved the food and the people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Our party of 4 ate dinner at Semhar to celebrate our friends wedding anniversary. We LOVED the Ethiopian cuisine - which was new to us - the exotic spices and various food combinations was delicious. The waitress and chef are charming and helpful.
We will go again when we next visit Amsterdam.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    35
    25
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Competa, Spain
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic Kitfo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My husband and I are huge fans of Ethiopian food and decided to eat here while on a layover. Good, friendly service and very clean. Really good traditional kitfo which is difficult to find. We had the vegetarian sampler platter. We also sampled the fruit beers which were interesting. It is rather expensive but what restaurant in Amsterdam is not.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Extremely enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Very friendly service and I ready enjoyed my dish. The samosas were outstanding! Atmosphere was very nice and up beat, good vibe all around.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I don't know what the fuss is about. I found the restaurant only average. I love Ethiopian and Eritrean food and been to most of the Ethiopian restaurants in Amsterdam but this is my least favourite. The food wasn't at all what I exptected. Ethiopian food is supposed to be spicy and this wasn't spicy at all! The interior is nice and the service is excellent, though.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“You have to eat here... And they have coconut beers (yeah I said coconut beer!)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Eat here once with a friend - or someone you'd like to become a friend with. It's a unique experience. The fruit and nut beers are also great fun.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Semhar also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Been to Semhar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Semhar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.