We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cosy atmosphere and tasty food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Semhar

Semhar
Marnixstraat 259, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
Improve this listing
Ranked #194 of 2,231 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $15 - $22
Cuisines: Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“cosy atmosphere and tasty food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We went there on a Saturday night, quite late (about 10) and we found a very simple, but cosy restaurant. The waitress is really kind and has a wonderful smile. We had a mix-plate of fish and vegetables that at first didn't look so much for two, but at the end it was more than enough. The food was tasty and rather spicy (there are two options, mild or hot) and we enjoyed a lot eating everything with hands in a relaxed and quiet environment.
We also had mango with yogurts and honey for dessert (it was huge and a little bit too sweet) and the typical coffee.
the total was about 30 euros per person.
I suggest to avoid water (it's too expensive) and try coconut or Palm nut beer.
So, a nice place in order to taste some African food.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    33
    24
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Charming and tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Semhar is a relaxed and genuine experience with good value tasty food, a charming hostess/waitress and great beer. If you've not tried Ethiopian food (or beer) before (and we hadn't) you may be a little challenged by how it's served and eaten, but don't be put off because it tastes great.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Grim surroundings, great restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

It could have been just the gloomy day when I went to Semhar, but the neighborhood is really a little bit grim. Do not let it turn you off though, as Semhar serves wonderful African cousine. I was a little disappointed by the fact that they would not do big mix-plates of things, which I am used to at other Ethiopian restaurants, but the dish that I was served was perfectly delicious and left no room for criticism. I have not yet experienced the other African restaurants in Amsterdam, but this one is definitely worth a visit.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing & Delicious..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We walked a fair distance from our hotel to find this recommended eaterie. We were not disappointed. Had several coconut beers and the huge platter. We are visiting Amsterdam again in Feb 2012 and will definitely be returning.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, England
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Lovely food, quite different, large portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Not in the centre, but an easy walk thogh the Jordaan. I have the fish based option which I think was about 16 euro and my partner a meaty one. The food came on a huge tray which was lined with the spongey pnakeas which you use to eat the food with your hands. It wasa ll delicious and despite being peopel who tend not to leave a single morsel on the plate, we struggled to finish it! I washed my meal down with a mango beer which was absolutley delicious too. Service was efficent and the food arrived promptly

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Semhar also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Semhar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Semhar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.