We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best lobster in Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant RED Amsterdam

Restaurant RED Amsterdam
Keizersgracht 594, 1017 EN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)
+31 20 320 1824
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #72 of 2,502 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $20 - $234
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Rembrandtplein
Description: Restaurant Red is with its unique concept, lobster and beef fillet, one of Amsterdam's favorite dining spots. Overlooking the city's most picturesque canal, the 'Keizersgracht', Restaurant Red is ideally located in a canal house in the middle of the old city center of Amsterdam. Red is famous for her hospitable service, informal and warm ambiance, friendly prices and lasting quality. Red has been a 'must' for five years now for everyone who is looking for an exquisite culinary experience. Whether you are touring the nearby museums and attractions or visiting Amsterdam for business, Red is the ideal place for your evening. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you at Red in the nearby future!
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Best lobster in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Delicious lobster and steak, excellent service and a gorgeous setting. One of the best meals I've had in Amsterdam. RED is on our regular visits list and is always consistent. and it is definitely one I recommend to friends/family/colleagues.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    373
    181
    45
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing steak!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely restaurant for a romantic meal. It is quite small, this makes it feel so cozy. The staff are friendly and helpful.

They only serve steak & lobster so if you're after anything else go somewhere else. You can have the lobster cold with mayo or warm with melted butter & herbs ( this is how we had it) it was beautiful. We then had our steak which is served with a hollandaise sauce. I have never had such a perfectly cooked steak! It was like eating a piece of heaven.

We then had the cheese board for dessert which was perfectly sized just the right amount of cheese.

Would recommend to anyone that loves a good steak, in a homely atmosphere.

Well done!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esher, England
Level Contributor
123 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Steak and lobster”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

These are the only two items on the menu, both simply but perfectly cooked and served. Having booked ahead we were lucky enough to get a window seat looking out over the Kaisersgracht.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great restaurant with a lovely ambience, great service and delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We visited Amsterdam for a couple of days and wanted to eat somewhere special for my birthday. What a great choice we made. A candle lit dinner with a lovely atmosphere. A choice of just 2 dishes. Lobster, fillet steak or a bit of both. Served with the perfect chips and a lovely salad. We had bread and oils to start. The fillet steak was definately the best I have tasted. It is my favourite dish and this certainly didn't disappoint. The lobster was very tasty and as it's just the 2 dishes on offer, it's no wonder they are both cooked to perfection. Just enough room for dessert which was a selection of tasty little puddings presented beautifully. A couple of wines and beers and including the tip we spent no more than e80. We will be returning to RED on our next visit to this beautiful city.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great anniversary dinner! Best steak ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I recently visited Restaurant Red with my boyfriend for our anniversary and we was not disappointed!

The restaurant has an intimate atmosphere with very helpful waiters/waitress'

We ordered the lobster for starters which was presented well and tasted equally as good! :)

For our main course we ordered the steak which I must say was the best steak I have ever had!
I asked for medium rare and it was perfect! The steak was served with hollandaise sauce which was very nice together.

Our meal was also served with chips and salad which was just as good as the rest of the food!

For dessert we had 'Chefs surprise' which was a trio of desserts! Presented well and a nice end to the meal.

I would visit this restaurant again if I'm in Amsterdam!

Lovely restaurant!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant RED Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant RED Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant RED Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.