We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant RED Amsterdam

Restaurant RED Amsterdam
Keizersgracht 594, 1017 EN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)
020 - 320 18 24
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 2,274 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $20 - $234
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Rembrandtplein
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Great wine, great steak and lobster. But felt a little guilty due to insane carbon footprint of my plate but I got over it quite quickly food and service was great.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    270
    112
    34
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Italy
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best lobster ever !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Red restaurant is a must if you are looking for a delicious meal and a very nice elegant setting. The restaurant is fairly small, lovely decorated perfect for a romantic dinner or an evening out with friends. The food is fabulous and I really liked their concept of only 2 choices but really well done. The starter, if you choose to have it, is an excellent caviar served on tiny warm pancakes and champagne, then you choose between lobster or steak or a surf and turf dish where you get half and half. Both were really exquisite but if I could go back I would do the whole lobster, honestly one of the best I ever had. Even the bread and salad are delicious.
The service was fantastic and friendly but make sure you make reservation (you can do so online)

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Perfect steak and lobster!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Lobster, steak, or both? Doesn't really matter, whatever you pick will be great!
I love this place, it is small but not at all cramped, the staff are lovely, the prices are exremely reasonable and the food is excellent. What more could you want?
Fancy and intimate enough to go to for a special occasion, but also cheap enough to go any time.
Make sure you book as it's small and they fill up quickly, oh and make sure you order a sgroppino afer your meal too, they are really great!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qatif
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful way to end our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Our cousin reserved a table for 9. My husband and I arrived 1st. It was full and busy, we waited by the door until we were welcomed by one of the staff, she took us to the table and took our coats. The owner came and welcomed us.
The place is nice, and so comfortable comparing to lots of resturants in Amsterdam.
Finally when we all arrived, she started explaining the food service, 1 antre, 1 main then a menu for the dessert.
The food was amazingly delicious, cooked to perfection. Awakens all your senses, the smell the taste the presentation. And the desert was superb.
Loved the atmosphere, the friendliness of the owner and the staff and for sure the food.
The price is very reasonable. Highly recommended for couples and groups.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Amazing, a place I will always visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

This restaurant was one of the best I ever tried. I never ate lobster in my life before that night, but I don't think anyone can top that. The steak was like a piece of heaven and I’m steak lover. It was amazing experience and staffs were very friendly. We had a reservation for 9 people and we all had a great time.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant RED Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant RED Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant RED Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.