We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and relaxed atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant RED Amsterdam

Restaurant RED Amsterdam
Keizersgracht 594, 1017 EN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)
+31 20 320 1824
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 2,445 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $20 - $234
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Rembrandtplein
Description: Restaurant Red is with its unique concept, lobster and beef fillet, one of Amsterdam's favorite dining spots. Overlooking the city's most picturesque canal, the 'Keizersgracht', Restaurant Red is ideally located in a canal house in the middle of the old city center of Amsterdam. Red is famous for her hospitable service, informal and warm ambiance, friendly prices and lasting quality. Red has been a 'must' for five years now for everyone who is looking for an exquisite culinary experience. Whether you are touring the nearby museums and attractions or visiting Amsterdam for business, Red is the ideal place for your evening. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you at Red in the nearby future!
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great food and relaxed atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

My partner booked this restaurant online before going on holiday, so we were a little unsure of what to expect. With not much signage outside (if any) it was a little difficult to find if you're not using the Tripadvisor map on the app. However once inside, we were welcomed warmly, shown to our table and instantly made to feel like the most special people in the restaurant. The menu and how to order was explained and when asked for our drinks order, we weren't shunned for asking for a soft drink (something which I find some fine dining establishments do).

We both ordered steak and were amused by the presentation of the chips in a little basket and a lovely sized and extremely tasty steak placed on a wooden board. It was devine, cooked to perfection and tasted just as good as it looked. For dessert we ordered the chef's choice (a selection of small desserts) and I would recommend this above anything else on the menu! Every taste was different but balanced beautifully with one another, great for couples to share or for one to indulge on their own.

It was a beautiful meal which kicked off a fantastic night on our holiday and I would highly recommend this restaurant for any occasion!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    140
    38
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not much to get”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This place offers steak or lobster with fries.The last time we were there i got half lobster as a starter and steak for main course. My lobster was almost raw and my steak was overcooked even though i asked for it to be medium.I think that if a restaurant serves only two main courses they have to be perfect. Then i tried the fries and i realized that they are the pre-fried manufactured ones.They could be handmade cut as its the only side dish served there with salad. The salad was ok nothing special though.We have paid 85 euros for 2 persons and we had 2 glasses of wine each. The atmosphere is nice but overall nothing to go crazy for..

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middelburg, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A wonderful dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Don't go here if you want the best quality food in town. But if you are in for some relaxation, good atmosphere, polite staff, classic interior, very hip people this is the place to be. Surf and turf, simple but excellently prepared, some nice wine and our evening was a smash hit! It does not come cheap but worth every penny.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We booked on line. Make sure you know how to find this restaurant as there are no signs on the window or door to tell you. However once inside we were welcomed warmly and our coats taken and showed to our table.
Staff very friendly all speaking perfect English. Menus explained. (Only steak and Lobster) which is what we ordered. Great tender steak and great lobster with unlimited chips and salad.
Cheese selection was amazing with a fruit bread
would recommend and a cosy venue with great food and service

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggar, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Excellent in all respects”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I had wanted to visit this restaurant for the past few years, and booked it several months ago.
We were shown to a great table at the window by a very friendly waitress. Another waitress arrived quickly with some bread for us and explained the menu to us and took a drinks order.
We opted (as most do) for surf and turf - half lobster for starters with herb butter, followed by steak and fries. Both courses could not be faulted, absolutely superb. A very nice bottle of Bordeaux, and finished with some very fine cheese n fruit breads. Service all the way through was also terrific - nice buzz in the restaurant, very friendly and cheerful. Overall it was great value, about 130 euro in total.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant RED Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant RED Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant RED Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.