We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad, Bad service.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant RED Amsterdam

Restaurant RED Amsterdam
Keizersgracht 594, 1017 EN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)
+31 20 320 1824
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 2,483 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $20 - $234
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Rembrandtplein
Description: Restaurant Red is with its unique concept, lobster and beef fillet, one of Amsterdam's favorite dining spots. Overlooking the city's most picturesque canal, the 'Keizersgracht', Restaurant Red is ideally located in a canal house in the middle of the old city center of Amsterdam. Red is famous for her hospitable service, informal and warm ambiance, friendly prices and lasting quality. Red has been a 'must' for five years now for everyone who is looking for an exquisite culinary experience. Whether you are touring the nearby museums and attractions or visiting Amsterdam for business, Red is the ideal place for your evening. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you at Red in the nearby future!
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bad, Bad service.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My in laws were in town from California and they wanted to take me out for my birthday. I made a reservation and they confirmed by phone. When I got there I found out that they made my reservation for the wrong day. I explained them that it was a birthday dinner but all they had to say ( a blonde waitress) was " Mistakes happen". The manager ( I think Marcel is the name) was participating to the conversation and all he had to say was " I am sorry I can't do anything".
They called me 3 days after to apologize but that was it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    147
    39
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worst Service in Amsterdam!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

After making a reservation a month in advance for a group and confirming twice on the telephone, the reservation was lost. Instead of apologising, the manager went defensive. Eventually blaming the customer and ignoring the situation. "Sorry this happened" is always a nice place to start when you make a mistake. I guess the manager missed the customer service 101 class.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A brilliant place for steak or lobster.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The 'RED' concept is simple - steak or lobster or a mix of both - and they deliver their concept beautifully; the restaurant has a very nice vibe, and whilst we were warned that some tables are rather too close to each other, our window table was great. It's very popular, so worth booking in advance to ensure you get in!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This hard to find restaurant (it has no signs) is a true little gem. The only do steak and lobster, but they do it really well. Its worth a visit, you won't be disappointed

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“No steak knives needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I have been to RED several times and as good as the lobster is the steak is for me the star. Oh so tender and cooked to perfection. Service is great and polite. Only minus is the tables can be to close together.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant RED Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant RED Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant RED Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.