We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food and great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant RED Amsterdam

Restaurant RED Amsterdam
Keizersgracht 594, 1017 EN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)
020 - 320 18 24
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 2,288 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $20 - $234
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Rembrandtplein
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“good food and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Good value for the lobster. We couldn't decide between the lobster with mayonaise or the herb butter so the waitress suggested half-half which was great.

The service was friendly and not rushed which is a pleasant change from restaurants in Asia. Reservations required as the place is packed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    275
    120
    34
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Steak, Lobster, and Beautiful People”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Our first night in Amsterdam we got lost en route to another restaurant and walked by RED, which immediately caught our attention with a good looking crowd and cozy candlelit tables. One table was comprised of ten or twelve beautiful people celebrating something, maybe a birthday party or maybe just congratulating each other on being so good looking; the next table over was a couple either or the best first date ever or in the midst of getting engaged, it was hard to tell. It was after 10pm on a Monday, so we figured for the place to still be hopping they must have something good going on. As it was late on a Monday, we walked right in without reservations. We were warmly welcomed by the host, who apologized for not having English menus, but the concept is foolproof...they serve only three dishes: steak, lobster, or surf and turf. The steak was great, and the fries that came with it were insanely addictive. Not bad value either....this place could easily charge twice as much if it were in NYC and get away with it. My only regret is being an idiot and not getting the surf and turf so I could try both!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, but it costs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We reserved this restaurant a couple months before, and it was a good thing since they were packed on a Monday night and turned away many people. We were 5 adults and one infant. We were sat quickly and the helpful waitress explained the menu to us. See several prior reviews for details about the concept and menu. We has a combination of surf & turf and lobster alone. These were well prepared and came quickly. The food was very tasty and excellently prepared. The fries were also very good.

We enjoyed a nice Riesling wine, praised by all. For dessert we all shared a chocolate blue cheese cake, lemon cake and a frozen lemon liquor. All these were great and disappeared quickly.

The service was good, polite, accommodating for the baby's stroller, and attentive but not intrusive. When a old friend dropped by for an impromptu visit they pulled up a chair and let him join us without any problems.

The bill for 5 adults, 2 bottles of wine and sparkling water, before tip was 253€. This was reasonable value, but it is not cheap.

We would recommend this restaurant to others and had an enjoyable evening there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Had the lobster and steak. Absolutely wonderful. The steak was the best I've ever tasted. Service very quick without being rushed. Price was 105 euro including 3 small beers and a bottle of wine. Good value for such fantastic food.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We visited here in late August 2013 because of the reviews on TripAdvisor. It's an unusual but straightforward concept - they only serve steak (one size of fillet only) or lobster for the main course - you can have a half lobster and steak combination and they do also serve caviar - but essentially that's it - no starters (other than bread and olive oil). You can chose garlic butter or bernaise sauce for the steak. Both come with chips (or fries for our American readers). We were a party of 4 and 2 had steak, 2 had lobster. All the food was excellent including outstanding chips.

This is followed by a small selection (4 or 5 items including cheese) of desserts which were also excellent. There is a respectable wine list.

The restaurant is located on a corner on the Keizersgracht (number 594) but it takes some finding as it has no signs outside at all - if you weren't specifically searching for it you would never find it, however I think this "stealth marketing" adds to the special atmosphere. We were there on a Friday night and booked on the Friday morning. We could only get a table at 6.00pm when they opened. We arrived bang on 6 and were the first to arrive - within half an hour the place was packed and they were turning people away at the door so booking is absolutely essential. The restaurant is small and very atmospheric being decorated in black and dark green (looks much better than it sounds). our waitress was very friendly, helpful and efficient and we all had a great time.

We would definitely visit again on a future trip and I have no hesitation in recommending this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant RED Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant RED Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant RED Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;