We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant RED Amsterdam

Restaurant RED Amsterdam
Keizersgracht 594, 1017 EN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)
+31 20 320 1824
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 2,444 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $20 - $234
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Rembrandtplein
Description: Restaurant Red is with its unique concept, lobster and beef fillet, one of Amsterdam's favorite dining spots. Overlooking the city's most picturesque canal, the 'Keizersgracht', Restaurant Red is ideally located in a canal house in the middle of the old city center of Amsterdam. Red is famous for her hospitable service, informal and warm ambiance, friendly prices and lasting quality. Red has been a 'must' for five years now for everyone who is looking for an exquisite culinary experience. Whether you are touring the nearby museums and attractions or visiting Amsterdam for business, Red is the ideal place for your evening. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you at Red in the nearby future!
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Had the lobster and steak. Absolutely wonderful. The steak was the best I've ever tasted. Service very quick without being rushed. Price was 105 euro including 3 small beers and a bottle of wine. Good value for such fantastic food.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    140
    38
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We visited here in late August 2013 because of the reviews on TripAdvisor. It's an unusual but straightforward concept - they only serve steak (one size of fillet only) or lobster for the main course - you can have a half lobster and steak combination and they do also serve caviar - but essentially that's it - no starters (other than bread and olive oil). You can chose garlic butter or bernaise sauce for the steak. Both come with chips (or fries for our American readers). We were a party of 4 and 2 had steak, 2 had lobster. All the food was excellent including outstanding chips.

This is followed by a small selection (4 or 5 items including cheese) of desserts which were also excellent. There is a respectable wine list.

The restaurant is located on a corner on the Keizersgracht (number 594) but it takes some finding as it has no signs outside at all - if you weren't specifically searching for it you would never find it, however I think this "stealth marketing" adds to the special atmosphere. We were there on a Friday night and booked on the Friday morning. We could only get a table at 6.00pm when they opened. We arrived bang on 6 and were the first to arrive - within half an hour the place was packed and they were turning people away at the door so booking is absolutely essential. The restaurant is small and very atmospheric being decorated in black and dark green (looks much better than it sounds). our waitress was very friendly, helpful and efficient and we all had a great time.

We would definitely visit again on a future trip and I have no hesitation in recommending this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Great Steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Intrigued by the concept of such a small selection and living temporarily nearby, we booked a table. The staff gave us a warm welcome and a window table. Fresh rolls were served with olive oil, then we both had the steak with bearnaise sauce. It was delicious and perfectly cooked, medium rare as requested. Crisp chips and a side salad were served as accompaniments. Water (unlimited still or sparkling) was 2.50€ a head but this was clearly listed on the menu. The chocolate and blue cheese dessert was delicious but rich - one shared between two was plenty. The restaurant is smartly decorated with a quirky mural and the decor is mostly green, not red! We had a memorable evening - will certainly return next time we are in Amsterdam.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great food but don't expect anything in a hurry”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Visited this Resteraunt on an evening in Amsterdam. Service was pretty appalling and we had to wait an age to get our drinks order taken then kept on chasing to place our food order. The meal was very tasty but slightly tainted by the bad service. Only go I'd you have plenty of time and aren't in a rush.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing RED”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Great restaurant and concept. I repeated already. Be aware of booking in advance. Tip: window table a plus.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant RED Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant RED Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant RED Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.