We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food, good price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tio Pepe

Tio Pepe
Spuistraat 3b, 1012 SP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)
+31 20 625 2270
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #841 of 2,287 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $22 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Dam Square
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice food, good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I appreciated that it wasn't noisy (we could talk with each other and relax) and the service was good. The food was definitely good, and also compared to the price.

The food was simple, good and not greasy.

We shall most likely return and can recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    38
    37
    21
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Biggest Mistake of my Holiday!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Our experience at Tio Pepe was so horrendous that we now describe terrible things and events with the phrase: 'Tio Pepe'. We were charmed into the restauraunt by the charismatic man out the front. Do not make the same mistake we did! We all ordered nachos which were dry, flavorless and over cooked. We were then charged 5 euros per person for guacamole even though the menu states that nachos comes with guacamole. When we pointed this out to the staff they became rude and aggressive. Terrible food, terrible service. There is beautiful food in Amsterdam. Do not go here!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Impressivo Mexicano”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Great food with warm welcoming ambience. Top quality steak, ribs and king prawns cooked to perfection rounded off with a nice warm Cafe Tio Pepe coffee (they do not hold back on the brandy). Well worth a visit but a bit too costly to afford every night!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Nice food, relaxed service and warm restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Good food, large portions and friendly staff. Nice all round, we will come again next time we're in Amsterdam.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Had a nice chicken and shrimps Burrito, which was quite good and came with nice Mexican rice. Had a good beer with it too. The service was OK, but I think the price was a little bit too expensive for a Burrito.

Bottom line: If you're into Mexican food and you're in the area (Central Amsterdam).

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tio Pepe also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Tio Pepe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tio Pepe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.