We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away” 3 of 5 stars
Review of KOBE house

KOBE house
Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 77, 1012 RE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)
+31(0)20-622 64 58
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,102 of 2,287 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $44 - $148
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Dam Square
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Stay away”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

When yiu arrive they very polite and the servise is great, you even having a hot towels. But by the end of a meal you understand that it was average and not worth the big money you paying... the dishes are small and average taste. But it looks like you gonna gave the meal of your life.
Not recommended for same price go to a better one.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    27
    20
    10
    3
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Friendly service usually, marginal sushi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Kobe House really pulled out the stops on my last visit. Maybe the great service was because I had a party of ten, because the service can be spotty. While Kobe House offers Japanese grilled foods, my friends and I have only experienced the sushi. It’s good, but not that great. The sushi portions are rather large, which sounds good… more bang for the euro… but the pieces are not as tasty as they could be.

Still, I enjoy Kobe House. Not the best sushi in town, but definitely reliable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

There are a lot of options on the menu. We chose one meal with beef. Although it was pricey the meal did come with several dishes of food for close to 40 Euros. A plate of fried rice was close to 15 Euros. The food was fine but expensive.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Interesting experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The live cooking areas have seating for 9 so as a group of 4 we sat at one end. We ordered 2 Menu Kyoto and 2 Menu Deshima. At this point I wish I had asked to keep a menu so that I could identify what each course was and what was coming next. We had 2 bottles of red merlot at Euros 19.50 a bottle and wanted tap water which they would not provide only selling bottled water. We thought nothing much of that and ordered it. The bottled water is 6 Euros a bottle which I think is very expensive.

The interesting display of food being cooked in front of you was good and the first chef entertaining. Then another party of 4 joined the other end of the cooking area. They were pleasant enough people but the problem came when the first chef moved to another cooking area and another chef came to ours. The 4 of us were sharing 2 menu Kyoto and 2 menu Deshima. We had received a few dishes. The new chef then cooked the steak in front of us and then divided it up between our party of 4 and 2 of their party! This followed egg fried rice being prepared for all 8 of us.

The restaurant is not cheap with these menus being Euros 37.50 each and euros 45 each. so 165 euros for the 4 of us.

We also had some sashimi and nigiri which was very nice, again expensive at a total cost for 4 of Euros 52.50.

What I suggest to anyone going and sharing a cooking area is keep a copy of the menu with you and check you get what you are paying for.

Shame really because the food was good but I felt they took advantage of our confusion about the menu. Our mistake we should have raised the issue at the time.

Also the wine and water is located away from the seating area which is fine while they are quiet because they keep topping you up but as soon as it gets busy you have empty glasses which I never like!

Hopefully if you are reading this and you go there you will learn from our mistake.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great entertainment & superb food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We had a combination platter each of sushi and sashimi to start. Everything was super fresh.

Our teppanyaki chef was great fun and quite a showman. He even got our niece up to try flipping a whole raw egg (in its shell) up into his hat. Fortunately she couldnt flip it too high and it cracked on our stovetop.

The food was delicious and the amount of entertainment just right.

Can definitely recommend this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed KOBE house also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to KOBE house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KOBE house, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.