We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Thai!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kinnaree Thai Cuisine

Kinnaree Thai Cuisine
Eerste Anjeliersdwarsstraat 14, 1015 NR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
31 (0)20 627 7153
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 2,445 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Santa Monica, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Terrific Thai!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

There is another great Thai restaurant just around the corner called Ko-Chang and I am hard-pressed to decide which one I prefer. A lovely problem to have! I have eaten Thai in many countries and, like Ko-Chang, this is simply one of the very best I have had the pleasure to visit.

I stayed nearby for a month recently and I ate here, and had take-out, five or six times. In fact, I am a bit sheepish that I practically lived on Thai food in Amsterdam!

The room is nice, comfortable and the service is terrific. But it is the food that brought me back for return visits. Simply wonderful, and I tried a dozen or so dishes. Not too pricey either.

I heartily recommend Kinnaree and look forward to returning when I get back to Amsterdam.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    60
    7
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Food..Even Better Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The staff were very welcoming and professional in this very busy restaurant.most sets had been reserved but we managed to get one of the 2 remaining...even then we had to vacate it after an hour or so.Book ahead to avoid disappointment.The food was excellent and well presented.Very reasonably priced for Amsterdam.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Thai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Very nice Thai, my second fav in Amsterdam and highly recommended. Service is great, atmosphere is really nice although when entering the restaurant you smell too much of the food. I guess this is because they have an open kitchen. The cooks are wearing cap for hygiene. They serve you a small appetizer on the house. Portions are nice and food is really delicious. Fair price for Amsterdam standards but expensive for a Thai restaurant. All the personnel is very friendly. I love this restaurant and will return for sure...and when is not fully booked :-)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent thai food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I find it hard to find great food in Amsterdam at times, but this place is reliably excellent. I;ve been there a number fo times and had only good meals. The food is tasty, fresh, hot if you choose the hot dishes, and moorish. Prices are finde for AMsterdam too.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We had an absolutely delicious meal. Modest, unassuming frontage (almost missed it!) and although they were very busy, despite no reservations, they were able to accommodate us. Warm, friendly, welcoming. Lovely staff who were efficient and attentive. Delicious food – one of the best Thai meals we've had – and very reasonably priced. Would highly recommend searching it out – slightly off the tourist track in a more residential neighbourhood but well worth the effort to find it. Obviously popular even on a cold, wet, November evening, so perhaps in the busy tourist season reservations would be advisable.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kinnaree Thai Cuisine also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Kinnaree Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinnaree Thai Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.