We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a joy to eat each time!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vamos a Ver

Vamos a Ver
Govert Flinckstraat 308, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #575 of 2,244 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Amsterdam, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a joy to eat each time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Conny and her husband make our periodic Paella a feast each time. We were back last night with 9 persons and all of them are now raging with enthousiasm... Michael & Chyntia.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    9
    9
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Truly great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Starters were good, gamba's and albondigas, but then came the paella.. Wow! Dessert was also really nice (crema catalana). Waiters work hard, are friendly, and barely speak dutch (so yes, theyre genuinely spanish), which is a plus.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Best paella in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I have been to quite a few 'Spanish' restaurants in the Netherlands, but overall the food does not resemble anything you would taste on the Iberian peninsula. Either the Dutch chefs have no clue about Spanish food or the Spaniards in the Netherlands happen to be the worst cooks. Luckily for those who love the Spanish cuisine, there is one restaurant in Amsterdam that serves pretty good paella, zarzuela and many tapas.

The choice of paellas is rather limited, but especially the paella marinera is delicious with fresh ingredients. Various tapas are also very tasty such as the fantastic almejas (venus's shell), albondigas (lamb meatballs) and gambas a la ajillo (gambas with garlic).

House wines are just average, but reasonably priced. Personally, I don't rate Spanish beers like Mahou or San Miguel very highly, but some people seem to enjoy them. Anyway, a little piece of Spain in the Netherlands and well worth a visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This restaurant is very well rated on IENS.nl, a Dutch restaurant reviewing website. So we had high expections. As we have been to Spain for holiday every year the past 3 years we could not wait to have good tapas and Spanish food. The food was good, but there is a big difference with food in Spain. In that sense we were a bit disappointed. But as I said to my partner during the dinner, if you have had very very good food before, then good food will feel only average. So to say the food is not good is not fair to this restaurant. But it is just not as good as in Spain. We had some starters and the Zarzuela. We feel that the fish in this dish was not so fresh, not sure but it might be that they use frozen ingredients. The Argentinean waiter serving us was very friendly and always smiling. Other waiters were also friendly.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“BEST SPANISH KITCHEN IN TOWN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

I’ve lived in Spain for twenty years, so I know
what a good paella or zarzuela can taste like.
Vamos A Ver serves the best and most authentic
Spanish dishes in Amsterdam (and in Holland?).
With a pleasant Mediterranean atmosphere and
extremely friendly, attentive service.
We’ll be back!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vamos a Ver also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Been to Vamos a Ver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vamos a Ver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.