We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good asian street food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New King

New King
Zeedijk 115-117, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 (0)20 6252180
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #707 of 2,459 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $29
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Grobbendonk, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Good asian street food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Nice location, cosy interior, good food.
Portions are not small, authentic asian food.
Totally not expensive.
We go certainly back, if we visit Amsterdam again

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    196
    55
    27
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not worth it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We ordered the salt and pepper squid and salt and pepper ribs - it's like they were just dipped in the same thick batter and mass deep-fried. Minimal flavour, and not worth the price.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Authentic Cantonese Cusine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Casual authentic Chinese food in the center of the center. We went there twice during our recent trip to Amsterdam. The restaurant is casual and is not a fancy place in any way, You go there to have good food at affordable prices. Unfortunately they don't serve picking duck which is our favorite Chinese dish but they have plenty of other alternatives. The Restaurant is usually busy and does not accept reservations but the line moves rather quickly as there are three floors.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
givat ada
1 review
“Just bad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

We ate chicken soya & mixed meat and both were big disappointments. Maybe other dishes are better but ours were really tasteless.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“averAge”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

i went with my friend and orderd fried rice and noodle soup also two ice tea , which we dint recieve but in place of ice tea we were served chinese tea . the food was ok but the chilly sause was delicious my friend went ga ga over the chilly sause it was ok but for twice visit .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New King also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to New King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New King, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.