We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Vegetarian Chinese food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New King

New King
Zeedijk 115-117, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 (0)20 6252180
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #772 of 2,627 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $29
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good Vegetarian Chinese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

My partner and I wanted to find vegetarian food in Amsterdam -- we ended up at this place after the hotel staff recommended it. It has three levels, but spaced out nicely so it doesn't feel overwhelming. However, we were placed in the "basement" it seemed which had very little atmosphere. Its nothing special in this regard. However, the food was quite good. I had the tofu and eggplant in black bean sauce and it was excellent. My partner got a soup and the Temple vegetarian dish. It was equally good. But the important point to my review is that the servings are huge. In fact neither of us could eat the entire meal. This made this place above average in my book. Good food and then a lot of it! I would definitely go back. Its located in the "china-town" part of Amsterdam outside of the Red Light District. Its worth the trip.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    196
    55
    27
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Diemen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Reasonable food; nicely designed interior”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

There is something with Chinese food. Usually - is our experience - the nicer the restaurant looks the worse the food taste :-). In Amsterdam one of our favourites restaurants is Hoi Tin. The food is so far the best but the interior doesn't look so nice.

As we wanted to try something new we decided to give New King a shot. New King was visited by a lot of our friends and they all recommended us to go there. During the weekend it tends to be so busy that the ques usually go all the way down the street. Is this typically the "Lonely Planet effect" or is it really that good and have we missed good food so far?

We arrived and we soon found out that they only accept cash. As most Asian restaurants in the Zeedijk area are like this (so far we haven't figured it out why) we weren't really bothered by this.

A table downstairs close to the window was given to us. The interior was nice and the staff was friendly. We were immediately asked what we wanted to drink and it arrived quickly. We decided to order three main courses. Getting the attention of the staff was a challenge but in the end they took our order.

Food arrived quite fast and looked tasty (we ordered kang kung, ma po tofu and salt and pepper squid). It tasted ok; the right flavours were there although it felt liked the food was adjusted to western taste. The portion size was generous and the price was a little above average.

Would we recommend the restaurant? Depends. If I were to bring business partners to try Asian food and I know they don't have too much experience with Asian food I will definitely do it. The interior looks nice and the menu is easily accessible with photos for every item. For ourselves: perhaps when we're bored with other Chinese restaurants otherwise probably not.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“great authentic chinese food- lovely trendy setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

me and my partner went here after reading good reviews on this site- we were not dissapointed..
we had spare peking ribs and duck spring rolls to start, then i had the mixed seafood with crispy noodles and my partner had the beef with chilli... both were lovely and we couldnt finish the meal... the only downside was the wine wasnt that great but all in all a excellent value meal at just over 45 euros. (plus u get to take chopsticks away!)

i travel to amsterdam frequently and will be making a return here... u may need to wait, it gets very busy. x

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Lovely roasted duck, great soups and side orders, and the price:45 euros for two healty eaters! On the downside service needs more refinement...

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrible service, not worth it to ruin your night!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

When we arrived, we were told that we had to wait for 20 mins for our table. After waited for 30 mins (even people who waited in front of us without reservation already had table), we nicely asked if they forget us since they didn't written down our name for a table. Then the guy said other people reserved the table by phone (when we clearly saw 3 couples who came later and waited with us were already seated) and the attitude... repeatedly said, when your table is ready, I will call you. DO YOU UNDERSTAND ME???. It was a busy night, we would understand if he forgot us, but a simple sorry and nice attitude would make it up to us. After another 15 mins, they guy finally said: "if you'd like, you can sit at that table at the back". Another guy who served us for the meal threw the tea cups in front of us. Even fast food restaurant can serve better than this restaurant. We used to had came to New King before, and definitely the service has worsen a lot.

- The food: lot's of MSG added, kept feeling thirsty after dinner. The tea served was used pot from other customers (you can tasted and see it the color of the tea)
- Atmosphere: typical Chinese restaurant. Always busy and loud. It's ok if you want to have quick meal
- Service: very very poor, you are not treated as a customer

All in all, it's ok if you want to have a take out meal. If you really want to have dinner there, I would highly suggest to make reservations. The waiting for people behind us were up to 45 mins, and finally the guy started asking their phone numbers to inform them when the table is ready. But really, I don't think the quality of the food is worth it to spend your money there. Definitely my last visit to this place!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New King also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to New King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New King, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.