We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting food!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Brasserie Harkema

Brasserie Harkema
Nes 67, 1012KD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)
+31 20 428 22 22
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,200 of 2,435 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $14 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Red Light District
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disgusting food!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We ate at many places during our 4 days in Amsterdam, this stood out as the worst by a long chalk. I ordered a vegetable curry which was very expensive for what it was. Some green beans, broccoli, peas and potatoes with a strangely fried lump of cauliflower in a packet sauce that tasted like the sweetest pudding I had ever eaten - the sugar was sprinkled over the whole thing and was still crunchy from being uncooked, also too much salt. I got through 3 glasses of water to wash away the taste and left.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    113
    60
    19
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darmstadt
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Long wait, not great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Don't get draw in by the modern look - this place was like a cafeteria. The service was very slow and when they finally served our appetizer, it arrived even before our drinks!
Food was average, really not much to say about it. The place was crowded though so I guess they can get away with these problems...

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“How can they get it so wrong?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We selected this restaurant as it is in a great location, looked stylish, but had a simple tasty menu. However, there doesn't appear to be anybody monitoring the quality, either of the food or the service. It took a long time to have any sort of service and when the food did eventually come, one of the main courses was cold and the side order of vegetables was missing. We informed the manager of this and a new main course was procured. However, the vegetables were still missing and the main course they were ordered for was actually finished by the time they arrived. To add insult to injury, the bill was not checked, was wrong, and had someone else's main courses on it... Dreadful.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I've been told about this place and I enjoyed the meal. It's a minimal location with interesting light and space solution (except from the table and the chairs), service is fine, people is young and inexperienced but friendly.
The cauliflower soup was very delicate (maybe the cod fish could be a little bit more) and the grilled tuna was served with an interesting wasabi mayonnaise.
I recommend a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“simple food, stylish ambiance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

on a sunday during lunch time the place, which is designed very modern and appealing, was basically empty. service was fast, menu limited to burgers, salads and the likes, but good. fairly priced and in a central location, close to theatres. which explains that most of the plenty tables were reserved for the evening, which seems to be the time to go there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Harkema also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Brasserie Harkema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brasserie Harkema, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.