We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy and great atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caramba

Caramba
Lindengracht 342, 1015KN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
020-6271188
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #981 of 2,287 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Latin, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Amsterdam, Nederland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Yummy and great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Always delicious, every time we eat here, we wonder why we don't come more regularly. We had a nacho's dish with chicken and burrito's, both delicious, followed by flan, also delicious!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    17
    18
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“the smart folks walked away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

It was a lovely day. We sat outside and ordered drinks and chips with guacamole and dinner. We got our drinks and appetizer. Three other couples came. After waiting for over 15 mins, one got up and left...then another left. The third, dutch speaking twentysomething young women, got tons of attention AND THEIR FOOD. We never saw the waiter again. We didn't even see him in the restaurant. He never brought our dinner. After 45 mins we left euros on the table to cover what we had and left. It might have been good. What we got (chips, salsa and guac) was good. The service was horrible. Who knows how their entrees are? Not us.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Pretty good, but nothing special.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Nice neighbourhood, relaxed atmoshere in the restaurant and pleasant music.
Every dish we ordered was tasty, however the prices for some dishes were too high. For instance the gambas salteadas (the shrimps from the starters' menu); three shrimps for 9€ is a bit expensive. Also, the fact that there was a cat in the restaurant which was climbing on the nearby table and the chairs was quite annoying.
The waiter was friendly and polite, however the service was a bit slow.
Overall, a nice experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Yes! Muy excellente cocina de Mexicana en Amsterdam!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We're from LA. We've lived in Amstrdam for 18 mos. We are constantly Mexican food deprived. We finally found some place that is at least approaching our standards so if you want good to wonderful Mexican food in Amsterdam, head to the Jordaan and Caramba. We had a great night of margaritas (order the full pitcher, a half is just silly for 2 people), tacos, the combination plate and the chorizos as an appetizer...which were different, but really good. Want to go back and try some more stuff, but the guys next to us were having steak and baked potatoes (not very Mexican, I know) and they were raving about their meals. A pleasant surprise to have finally stumbled upon this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“mexican food for an affordable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Located on the Lindengracht, a very lively street in the Jordaan area with several places where you can have dinner. We decided to go for the Mexican alternative.
Having had late lunch, we were not so hungry at the evening. So we only ordered main courses and they tasted delicious. We had the Chilaquiles (tortillachips with chicken, cheese, salad, chilisauce and sour cream) and the Combo vega (a taco and an enchillada (if you want you can order 2 enchillada or 2 taco instread of 1 each) with vegetables, guacamole and beans). . We had a bottle of rose (strangely enough the wine was made in South Africa (Bloemfontyn)).Food and a bottle of house wine (rose) cost 46 euro.
also: they offer coctails a glas, half liter or by the liter. Example: 1 liter of Pina Collada cost 24 euro.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caramba also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Caramba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caramba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.