We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canaleto

Canaleto
Hobbemastraat 10 b, 1071ZB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)
020-6629011
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,810 of 2,463 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Italian
Neighborhood: Museumplein
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Museumplein
Penticton, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Ate here our last night in Amsterdam I had spaghetti carbonera which was delicious, my daughter had lasagnea. Also their tiramasu was great.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    17
    12
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
“Close to hotel and transport.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Came here because the Indonesian restaurant across the road was packed out! We ordered S, Bolognese and Lasagne. The Lasagne was flavourful, the S Bolognese forgettable. The S Bolognese is such a simple dish to make and it can be a real treat. Unfortunately this dish missed out!
The staff are friendly and attentive and there is a comprehensive menu.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, MD
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good Pizza, Poor Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The pizza is fairly good, but a bit overpriced. The staff is indifferent at best and rudely inconsiderate of patrons' time more often than not. Our waiter was sullen and treated us like dirt. The menu lists soft drinks at 2.50 eur and we ordered two, but were unpleasantly surprised when they charged us for "medium" drinks at 4.00 eur for .3 L glasses of 7Up. I agree with an earlier reviewer who called this place a 'tourist trap'. It is. Avoid.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Friendly waiters won't let you waiting: you will get your table as soon you come in.
I ate there twice, and I ordered twi meals at teh same tima (was starving).
Penne with 4 kinds of cheese was good, as well pizza.
The Argentinian part of the order consisted of a steak with fries and salad.
The second day, the steak was a little bit tough - i had to leave a few bites...

Red wine was ok, coffee was good too,

20 eur per person (with wine and coffee) is not too much. Ideal for business lunch or tired tourist couples.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natanya
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“We ate here twice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The Canaletto offers both an Italian and an Argentinian menu. The atmosphere was pleasant even though from the outside it looked unimpressive. The Argentinian goulash soup as excellent and in general the Argentinian food was better than the Italian offerings. Price was reasonable, location was convenient especially if you are visiting one or more of the museums in this area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canaleto also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Canaleto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canaleto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.