We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Balti House

Balti House
Albert Cuypstraat 41, Amsterdam 1072 CL, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)
020-6643038
Improve this listing
Ranked #979 of 2,229 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Great food, lots of selection, good prices. We eat Indian a lot, and were impressed with their beef vindaloo - very spicy & delicious. Great homemade naan bread, cozy atmosphere. The servers were very friendly as well. All adds up to a great experience! If we lived in this city I could see this being a local favourite of ours.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    20
    20
    12
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A very large choice of great tasting indian dishes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

And... at a very affodable price.
If you are lucky with the weather, you can sit on their terrace (the curb actually), which is a nice touch to enjoy the special atmosphere of this famous area of Amsterdam: the Pijp.
I have visited this restaurant twice, I ll go again for sure.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great spice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We were impressed with the great selection of dishes and very happy to receive our dishes full of spice and flavor. The service was straight forward/serious and efficient!
The restaurant is easy to find and clean.
We will return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best curry house in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Always reliable for the weekend curry fix. The staff are superb and the curries are freshly made with good ingredients.

Top choice for me is the Lamb Korai, lovely. I've yet to have a bad meal and visit at least once a month.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My favourite curry in Amsterdam.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

After 2 and a half years of living here I've yet to find a curry house that was up to the standard I enjoyed back in the UK. Well finally I have ! 27 of us went there for dinner last night and the food, quick and very polite service was fantastic. The vindaloo was proper vindaloo hot and the dhansak the right mix of hot, sweet and sour. The prawn puri and keema naan was spot on too. Not good for the waistline though, as I feel I'll be making frequent visits !

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balti House also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Balti House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balti House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.