We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special bagel sandwiches” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bagels & Beans

Bagels & Beans
Ferdinand Bolstraat 70 (Gerard Doustraat), 1072 LM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)
0206721610
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #407 of 2,480 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: International, Bagels
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Special bagel sandwiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed my buffalo mozzarella and parma ham bagel sandwich. My girlfriend loved her avocado, tomato, and lettuce on whole wheat bagel. This is not a boring bagel joint. The interior poles are decorated like trees. These folks care.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    32
    10
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Tasty beans and bagels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Bagels as they should be, yummy coffee. Had a BLT with pinenuts and honey mustard. Prices from €2 to €8.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lovely for breakfast or lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We had a breakfast here, not a huge selection, but enough. Good selection of fillings for your bagel at lunchtime, the staff are friendly and helpful. The specials board had a good selection, so have a look at that. There are several of these cafes in Amsterdam, reasonable prices for nice quality food. Good selection of fresh juices and smoothies too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“coffee time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Nice and relaxing place to have a cup of Excellent coffee while reading Book or newspaper. Like the convenience of the chain around the city - they have spots almost in every neighbourhood.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect first breakfast on a holiday in the city!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

It was our first morning in Amsterdam and decided to head out and explore breakfast options around our hotel area. As it was a Saturday morning, the initial option was to head to Albert Cuypmarkt and be spontaneous on food until we saw this place. Having already known about it prior to our visit, it was on our list of places to eat so to have stumbled by it was a nice surprise.

We went for Onbijt 1, which was a bagel of your choice, a good serving jam and cream cheese, a few slices of fresh oranges, a glass of fresh orange juice and a choice of tea or coffee. All of 5.85 euros. This was easily one of the best breakfasts we've had, it was uncomplicated, quality, filling breakfast which was very affordable! The cream cheese, I can eat everyday. Store bought doesn't come close to this. It was creamy, soft, sweet but not sickly with a tiny hint of sourness. All these while people watching/blending with the locals.

I believe there's a few locations around Amsterdam which is great! Will definitely go back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bagels & Beans also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Bagels & Beans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bagels & Beans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.