We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty beans and bagels” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bagels & Beans

Bagels & Beans
Haarlemmerdijk 122, 1013 JH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (De Pijp)
0206721610
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 71 Bakeries in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Cafe, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: De Pijp
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tasty beans and bagels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Bagels as they should be, yummy coffee. Had a BLT with pinenuts and honey mustard. Prices from €2 to €8.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GodIsI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely for breakfast or lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We had a breakfast here, not a huge selection, but enough. Good selection of fillings for your bagel at lunchtime, the staff are friendly and helpful. The specials board had a good selection, so have a look at that. There are several of these cafes in Amsterdam, reasonable prices for nice quality food. Good selection of fresh juices and smoothies too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank petensue2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“coffee time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Nice and relaxing place to have a cup of Excellent coffee while reading Book or newspaper. Like the convenience of the chain around the city - they have spots almost in every neighbourhood.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena_Haliaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect first breakfast on a holiday in the city!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

It was our first morning in Amsterdam and decided to head out and explore breakfast options around our hotel area. As it was a Saturday morning, the initial option was to head to Albert Cuypmarkt and be spontaneous on food until we saw this place. Having already known about it prior to our visit, it was on our list of places to eat so to have stumbled by it was a nice surprise.

We went for Onbijt 1, which was a bagel of your choice, a good serving jam and cream cheese, a few slices of fresh oranges, a glass of fresh orange juice and a choice of tea or coffee. All of 5.85 euros. This was easily one of the best breakfasts we've had, it was uncomplicated, quality, filling breakfast which was very affordable! The cream cheese, I can eat everyday. Store bought doesn't come close to this. It was creamy, soft, sweet but not sickly with a tiny hint of sourness. All these while people watching/blending with the locals.

I believe there's a few locations around Amsterdam which is great! Will definitely go back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JheiandManu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect breakfast venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We went to Bagels & Beans after we had walked through the Albert Cuyp market on a Saturday morning. The menu is simple (bagels or bagels!) but there are so many great choices! We sat outside and loved the little touches like bottles of sunscreen on the tables and a branded sun hat you could borrow. We had coffee, orange juice and bagels all of which were excellent. The turnover at the cafe is really quick so the waitresses were kept busy but they were really friendly and still had time for a chat. Wish we had been able to go back to try more of the amazing bagel options!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bagels & Beans also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Bagels & Beans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing