We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, slowest service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dosa

Dosa
Overtoom 146, 1054 HN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)
020 616 48 38
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,843 of 2,434 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Vondelpark
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Good Food, slowest service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

If I want to sum my experience in 4 words.
Me and my husband want there after other restaurant we were heading to, was empty of customers ( never a good sign unless they just open which they weren't ).

At Dosa, We were welcomed in , The waiters were very friendly, but seemed to be a bit confused, Many dishes arrived to wrong table .Most of the customers didn't seem to care.
Food :We ordered Garlic Naan , Dal soup , Aloo Gobi , Madras Chicken and Chicken Biryani.
I am not too sure how authentic south India experience is it, but it was very good.Delicious even.

Atmosphere :Awful chairs ! not comfortable at all. restaurant acoustic was bad too.
Service: our order arrived after more than 45 Minutes from placing. Finally the food arrived together (first and Main course).
Summary : If they improve the service, reduce waiting time and replace their chairs it will definitely worth the visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    13
    5
    3
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Spain
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very nice indian meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Ate with my family during out trip to Amsterdam. The staff was very nice with us and with other patrons, even those that were rather rude. The menu was appropriate, the food was delicious, and we found the price to be quite good for Amsterdam. Definitely a goof place to eat if you are around the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“May not go there again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is not a south Indian place, my guess is the person cooking food never visited south India or learnt to cook good south Indian food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice indian restaurant. Very good location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Good food with nice atmosphere. Food was really nice and they made of our choice. North Indian and south Indian dishes available. Good service. Staff was very friendly. Love to visit again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice indian restaurant. Very good location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Good food with nice atmosphere. Food was really nice and they made of our choice. Good service. Staff was very friendly. Love to visit again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dosa also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Dosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.