We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, slowest service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dosa

Dosa
Overtoom 146, 1054 HN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)
020 616 48 38
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,512 of 2,762 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Indian, Middle Eastern, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Vondelpark
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good Food, slowest service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

If I want to sum my experience in 4 words.
Me and my husband want there after other restaurant we were heading to, was empty of customers ( never a good sign unless they just open which they weren't ).

At Dosa, We were welcomed in , The waiters were very friendly, but seemed to be a bit confused, Many dishes arrived to wrong table .Most of the customers didn't seem to care.
Food :We ordered Garlic Naan , Dal soup , Aloo Gobi , Madras Chicken and Chicken Biryani.
I am not too sure how authentic south India experience is it, but it was very good.Delicious even.

Atmosphere :Awful chairs ! not comfortable at all. restaurant acoustic was bad too.
Service: our order arrived after more than 45 Minutes from placing. Finally the food arrived together (first and Main course).
Summary : If they improve the service, reduce waiting time and replace their chairs it will definitely worth the visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dafna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Spain
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very nice indian meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Ate with my family during out trip to Amsterdam. The staff was very nice with us and with other patrons, even those that were rather rude. The menu was appropriate, the food was delicious, and we found the price to be quite good for Amsterdam. Definitely a goof place to eat if you are around the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank a_cheese_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“May not go there again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is not a south Indian place, my guess is the person cooking food never visited south India or learnt to cook good south Indian food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Go_Vacati0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice indian restaurant. Very good location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Good food with nice atmosphere. Food was really nice and they made of our choice. North Indian and south Indian dishes available. Good service. Staff was very friendly. Love to visit again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pratik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice indian restaurant. Very good location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Good food with nice atmosphere. Food was really nice and they made of our choice. Good service. Staff was very friendly. Love to visit again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pratik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dosa also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Dosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing