We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, slowest service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dosa

Dosa
Overtoom 146, 1054 HN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)
020 616 48 38
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,770 of 2,244 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Vondelpark
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good Food, slowest service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

If I want to sum my experience in 4 words.
Me and my husband want there after other restaurant we were heading to, was empty of customers ( never a good sign unless they just open which they weren't ).

At Dosa, We were welcomed in , The waiters were very friendly, but seemed to be a bit confused, Many dishes arrived to wrong table .Most of the customers didn't seem to care.
Food :We ordered Garlic Naan , Dal soup , Aloo Gobi , Madras Chicken and Chicken Biryani.
I am not too sure how authentic south India experience is it, but it was very good.Delicious even.

Atmosphere :Awful chairs ! not comfortable at all. restaurant acoustic was bad too.
Service: our order arrived after more than 45 Minutes from placing. Finally the food arrived together (first and Main course).
Summary : If they improve the service, reduce waiting time and replace their chairs it will definitely worth the visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

44% Recommend
    7
    8
    5
    3
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very nice indian meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Ate with my family during out trip to Amsterdam. The staff was very nice with us and with other patrons, even those that were rather rude. The menu was appropriate, the food was delicious, and we found the price to be quite good for Amsterdam. Definitely a goof place to eat if you are around the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“May not go there again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is not a south Indian place, my guess is the person cooking food never visited south India or learnt to cook good south Indian food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice indian restaurant. Very good location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Good food with nice atmosphere. Food was really nice and they made of our choice. North Indian and south Indian dishes available. Good service. Staff was very friendly. Love to visit again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice indian restaurant. Very good location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Good food with nice atmosphere. Food was really nice and they made of our choice. Good service. Staff was very friendly. Love to visit again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dosa also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Been to Dosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.