We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing choice and taste” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Betawi

Betawi
Admiraal de Ruijterweg 337, 1055 LZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 6821885
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #518 of 2,244 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Indonesian
Restaurant details
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Amazing choice and taste”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I was taken here by a friend, which is in the west of Amsterdam. This place is quite outstanding in terms of both choice and taste all coming at a mid-range cost. There is also a large selection for vegetarians, with the menu being 10 pages long. The mackerel dishes were of an excellent quality and size for the price. There is also a range of beverages on top of the standard 'house pils'. The owner and waiter were both cheerful and jovial, and looked like they enjoyed working there which gave a nice relaxed ambience for a fully enjoyable meal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    10
    5
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Been here two times now, once for dinning and one time for a celebration of a wedding. Good food and service. Great staff. And it has the authentic air of an Indonesonesian warung

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food outside touristic area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We choose this restaurant because close to our hotel and was a great find!!
Is a family business and everybody was very kind and helpful! we decided to take the tablerice special and the quantity and quality of the food was amazing!! Very tasty food! we didn't manage to finish everything and that was the only fail for the night!! :D
We had a table in the garden full of flowers, and at the end of the night we spent some time chatting with the staff....was a very nice atmosphere that remembered me Bali...
Good value for money, about 30€ pp for plenty of food and a beer but beware they don't take credit cards and the closest ATM is 10 min away....

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

A friend recommended we visit Betawi while in Amsterdam. To my surprise our apartment was only minutes away on foot. The restaurant itself was small and not must on atmosphere. It made up for this with a patient and friendly wait staff and wonderful food. The prices were reasonable. I managed to spend less than ?15. Definitely worth the trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Family Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We all had a lovely dinner here.
We were a group of ten people and didn't have a reservation but the staff quickly put some tables together and accommodated us just splendidly.
We all ordered different dishes and really all of them were sooo super tasty.
from fish to beef dishes all made with love and care.

lovely staff too :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Betawi also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Betawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Betawi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.