We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Burger's Patio

Burger's Patio
2e Tuindwarsstraat 12, 1015RZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
020-6236854
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #473 of 2,299 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: French, Italian, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Wandering down this little street, there are some wonderful restaurants and cafes to choose from. So our choice was initially made on the basis that there was a little alfresco table free out front from which to watch the world go by and the sun set over the spires of Amsterdam. But once our meals arrived, we realized that our choice was perfect. Our food was lovely - pasta of the day and fish of the day. Both excellent. The service was efficient, professional and very friendly. A nice selection of wines and we were happy. All up the meals and wine were reasonably priced but our evening out...priceless.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    29
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian/French Food, Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Small resto in the heart of the Jordaan, in one of my favourite streets. I was there for a business dinner, and my colleague and I enjoyed an excellent menu. My Ossobucco was delicious, together with a crisp white Pinot G that was recommended. My companion (a Sicilian) is usually critical of most Amsterdam restaurants but he also claimed to find the food completely edible! We sat on one of the two street tables, huddling under the awning as it started to rain.

I've been meaning to go to Burger's for years, and glad I got around to it. I would definitely visit again.

By the way, you have to visit this narrow street if you are looking to eat in Amsterdam. Donna Sofia is also excellent, and you should finish your meal with an Ice Cream from the Monte Pelmo IjsFabriek (factory). And a drink in the "Cafe Tuin" bar opposite Burger's Patio finishes the evening off nicely.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Loved it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Excellent food with interesting nibbles in between courses. If you like to sample different tastes give it a go. Desert to die for.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not what the name suggests...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Burger is the surname of the proprietors with no reference to the menu. Very good value, friendly service and a great location. Judging from the exterior, you'd never go in but do! Love the food!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice bistro for couples or groups”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Meal for 2. €85 inc. wine and 2 courses.

We liked the little snacks they brought out between courses, actually the service was a little slow but we've seen that before in Amsterdam.

The starters were amazing with interesting flavours that went well together.

The veal was not bad, although a bit dry but the risotto ball and sauce that went with it were great.

The partridge was excellent, very rich but very tasty.

Good atmosphere and friendly waiting staff. Would definitely go back - check it out.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burger's Patio also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Burger's Patio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burger's Patio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.