We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Echt gezellig!"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe De Blaffende Vis

Cafe De Blaffende Vis
Westerstraat 118, 1015 MN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020-6251721
Improve this listing
Ranked #225 of 2,627 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: Blaffende vis is `one of nicest and busiest matter of Amsterdam, where eating `can price/quality proportion be terribly nice. For a cafe an excellent assessment of spontaneousness and hospitality! A café in the Jordaan that timeless and comfortable. A happening.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“"Echt gezellig!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Gezellig, the typically Dutch word to describe this cafe. Also non touristique, Amsterdam people enjoy this cafee or students. The prices are fair and the personnel is friendly. Enjoy your time with a nice beer on the terrace or inside.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    22
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great Neighborhood Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We went here on a Monday for lunch, Monday is Fabric Market day on Westerstraat. Crowded of course, but you can ask to share table with others if there is room. Reasonable sandwiches at €5 with yummy bread. This cafe is a true neighborhood "stam cafe" = hangout, welcoming for regulars and newcomers equally.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Food redemption”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

After all of the terrible tourist eateries in the center this place was a breath of fresh air. It's reasonably priced and still walking distance from centraal. I got fresh squeezed oj, croissant, eggs, ham, toast, cheese and coffee for (i think) 12€. Highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Love the vibe, food and drink!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were in Jordaan area for 6 weeks and came to this cafe 4 or 5 times. Really nice beer choices that were surprisingly, cheaper than other bars on the same street. I say surprisingly as it had the best choices of the places we went to, and was by far the best in atmosphere!

Food was really nice, they have a mixed nibbles plate which were delicious...the medium was perfect for 2 to share.

They also do nice French Fries with mayonnaise!

Always bubbling with people spilling out onto the street. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We came across this place whilst walking around the city and we called in for a quick snack. The range of beers is good and the lunchtime food choices wide enough for both my wife and I. The young lady who served us was very helpful and friendly. Excellent value too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe De Blaffende Vis also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Cafe De Blaffende Vis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe De Blaffende Vis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.