We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Echt gezellig!"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe De Blaffende Vis

Cafe De Blaffende Vis
Westerstraat 118, 1015 MN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
020-6251721
Improve this listing
Ranked #190 of 2,401 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Description: Blaffende vis is `one of nicest and busiest matter of Amsterdam, where eating `can price/quality proportion be terribly nice. For a cafe an excellent assessment of spontaneousness and hospitality! A café in the Jordaan that timeless and comfortable. A happening.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“"Echt gezellig!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Gezellig, the typically Dutch word to describe this cafe. Also non touristique, Amsterdam people enjoy this cafee or students. The prices are fair and the personnel is friendly. Enjoy your time with a nice beer on the terrace or inside.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    12
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great Neighborhood Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We went here on a Monday for lunch, Monday is Fabric Market day on Westerstraat. Crowded of course, but you can ask to share table with others if there is room. Reasonable sandwiches at €5 with yummy bread. This cafe is a true neighborhood "stam cafe" = hangout, welcoming for regulars and newcomers equally.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Food redemption”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

After all of the terrible tourist eateries in the center this place was a breath of fresh air. It's reasonably priced and still walking distance from centraal. I got fresh squeezed oj, croissant, eggs, ham, toast, cheese and coffee for (i think) 12€. Highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Love the vibe, food and drink!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were in Jordaan area for 6 weeks and came to this cafe 4 or 5 times. Really nice beer choices that were surprisingly, cheaper than other bars on the same street. I say surprisingly as it had the best choices of the places we went to, and was by far the best in atmosphere!

Food was really nice, they have a mixed nibbles plate which were delicious...the medium was perfect for 2 to share.

They also do nice French Fries with mayonnaise!

Always bubbling with people spilling out onto the street. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We came across this place whilst walking around the city and we called in for a quick snack. The range of beers is good and the lunchtime food choices wide enough for both my wife and I. The young lady who served us was very helpful and friendly. Excellent value too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe De Blaffende Vis also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Cafe De Blaffende Vis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe De Blaffende Vis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.