We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Murugan

Murugan
Rozengracht 192, 1016 NK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
020-6525576
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,774 of 2,508 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Cheap and Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Very good people running at very reasonable prices.
Have a nice door delivery facility.
Named after a baby elephant called murugan which wax given as a gift to the then prime ministers son by Jawaharlal Neharu in '83

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    1
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing and authentic food...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed in Jordaan in October. Came across this restaurant late in the evening. The food at the restaurant really spoke volumes. We have eaten in many Indian restaurants. Mostly they are what most restaurants serve, generally greasy. If you want to eat authentic Indian food with a homely touch, this is the place to eat. In fact, we liked it so much we went back for more.

Don't judge a book by it's cover. Trust us, the food is great.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest USA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good Value Indian Restraunt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Not the best Indian restaurant in the world, but good Indian food for very reasonable price. We ordered 4 curries which comes with rice, bread and a salad, plus a couple appetizers and it was 50 euro! The best part is the lovely family that runs the restaurant, they were all very kind and helpful.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“My first review - and the winner is.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Since this is my first review, I'm picking my favorite Indian restaurant in Amsterdam. Murugan, named after the Hindi God of war and victory, is well named. It has a been a battle to find a good, return-able-to Indian restaurant here, and now I'm feeling giddyishly victorious. This small - quaint feeling, not small size - Indian restaurant on the Rozengracht street in the Jordaan neighborhood is a gem.

Run by an Indian family (mother cooks, Dad and daughter host and serve), is all about good food, outstanding service and quite frankly excellent value - For a curry meal, complete with Papadom and Naan we were charged $10 a head. The drinks are there and cheap, and if you ask for suggestions, they will present you with a few different dishes, mostly curry, that you can share for that price.

In a town full of unremarkable and forgettable Indian food, crowded - "do you have a reservation tonight? (no we don't have a flippin' reservation) - it's nice to be able to walk in, be seated immediately, attended to and served to your heart's content, eat well, get stuffed and not pay a lot.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good Indian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is a little family restaurant in the Jordann South area right on Rozengracht that we happened upon walking the avenue. This was truly a charming family running the restaurant doing all. We mostly eat vegetarian so we eat a fair amount of Indian food an it was great. I had curried mushrooms and everything comes served with dal and naan which were delicious. Because the family does everything, it takes a little time. So don't come if you're in a rush. But if you want to relax and have a great meal for little money, you can't go wrong here. But cash only, no credit cards.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Murugan also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Murugan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Murugan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.