We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Asian restaurnat ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Chow

Restaurant Chow
Rozengracht 106, 1016 NH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 624 5752
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,345 of 2,435 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $18 - $52
Cuisines: Pan-Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: This pan-Asian restaurant opened its doors in August 2013 and is a hidden hotspot in the city centre of Amsterdam easily accessible by tram and with parking facilities close by. The decor is a mix of colonial and contemporary. Some of the historical pieces of the old Bols building are kept like the amazing bar on the left and parts of the floor. The restaurant is decorated with eclectic art-pieces from all around the world to spice up the atmosphere. The dinner menu is pan-Asian and takes you on a journey through Asia; from the Vietnamese countryside to the fishing villages of Japan to the food markets of Thailand - at Chow you will enjoy all the freshly prepared dishes prepared by chef Ben and his talented team.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice Asian restaurnat ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

On a Monday night we decided to try this Asian restaurant. The reataurant is quite and has a pretty nice atmosphere. The service was exceptional and the dishes too. We got the tempura and fried squid for entree which were both very tasty and then a beautiful seafood curry!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    12
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“nice atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

the place definitely has a buzz. international crowd and modern classic black and white interior. slightly too dark to my liking but most people will not mind. it adds to the romance. this type of food is served at other restaurants as well and they sometimes let it slip. service is erratic. the wine waiter had no clue, but other staff were very helpful and attentive. had a nice evening out. for these prices though they cannot afford to make too many mistakes.

  • Visited October 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belle d, Public Relations Manager at Restaurant Chow, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Dear Kees,


We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at Chow.
We appreciate your comments and feedback. We will certainly take all your comments into consideration and corrective measures have already been taken.

We hope that we can welcome you back at Chow.

kind regards,

Belle de la Croix
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, ok it is not cheap but not too expensive either”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

We ate dinner here because the Japanese we wanted to go nearby was closed for summer holiday.. And what a delight it was. They knew what they were doing with every dish served, every wine suggested and served. Sushi we had was almost as good as that of Tsukiji fish market in Tokyo!
For 4 people, 3 cocktails, two bottles of wine 2 starters and 4 main we paid around 250 Euros

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best food I had in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

Don't let the type of food put you off if you are a little unadventurous, its worth the risk! I have never had vietnamese before but it was gorgeous. We ate lunch and I can't recommend it highly enough, its also so reasonably priced!

  • Visited September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Tasty food and great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

We went with a group. The staff were great, the food was really tasty and the atmosphere was quite relaxed and welcoming. The chicken main was a highlight!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Chow also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Chow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Chow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.