We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice bar, good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Berkhout

Berkhout
Stadhouderskade 77, 1072AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)
020-6629639
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 120 Coffee & Tea in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Wels, Austria
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“nice bar, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

just wanted a small snack and a beer for refreshment! we had the omelette and the snack mixture! beer was of course cold and alright; omelette was great, in taste and size! snack mixture was also very tasty!! would come back for another time if in amsterdam again!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    18
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great cafe in a great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Cafe Berkhout is directly across the street from the Heineken Experience, on a great corner to people watch, and nearby the Albert Cuyp Market and plenty of other bars and restaurants to wander to. The bartenders and owner are all very friendly, and the drinks and food are good. It's a cozy little place that's perfect to stop by.

We also rented the apartment above the Cafe and it was fantastic! Ask for Tom to give you more information about renting it. Such a perfect location to explore Amsterdam from and a fantastic space. It was wonderful to have such a great cafe as our downstairs neighbor:)

We will be back!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great little bar serving well priced, good quality wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We visited twice during our three day trip to Amsterdam as we didn't find it easy to locate many simple and affordable bars. A lovely setting, friendly staff and well priced drinks. Didn't eat but menu looked good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent place for a drink or to have lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We came here for lunch and ordered the 'kroketten'.
Friendly staff, good food, plate was dressed nicely.
The music was not too loud, mainly 80's.
Will go there again!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good friendly bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Had a few beers at this bar twice - friendly service and clean. Whilst I did not eat the burgers looked great - mix of tourists and locals

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Berkhout also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Berkhout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berkhout, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.