We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our number one place for ribs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barbeque Castell

Barbeque Castell
Lijnbaansgracht 252-254, 1017 RK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)
020-6228606
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #115 of 2,540 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Belgian, Dutch, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Our number one place for ribs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Castell has become my #1 steakhouse in amsterdam. We used to go to one of the chains, but since we've discovered Castell we dont go anywhere else and try to visit once a month at least. The ribs are especially good. The only thing that I personally dont like is the low seating, so we always try to sit at the bar. We even go so far as to go somewhere else if we cant sit at the bar. But your mileage may vary, plenty of people seem to like the seating.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    91
    19
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“At last...a great place to eat and relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Amsterdam has many things I enjoy but dining out has never been one of them, UNTIL now, this place has just improved my visits here 100%, the food is fantastic, great steaks, in fact a varied and imaginative menu to suit all tastes. Good staff, great ambience and good location. Dined here 2 out of 4 nights while in Amsterdam, next time will make it 4 out of 4 nights, nothing in the City compares, and have been visiting Amsterdam for years!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Was very pleasantly surprised how good this place was. Amsterdam is famous for a lot of things but great restaurants doesn't readily spring to mind. However, this place was a great find. We had been recommended it several times but never bothered to try it. Just down a narrow street off Leidseplein Square, this place has a very cool and laid back atmosphere. It has plenty of outside seating for when the weather permits and is very chic inside. The service is pretty good and the food is second to none. Try the Surf and Turf or the mixed grill which is served on skewers - a great idea We ended up going back a second time during our stay and it was equally as good.

It is definitely on our list for our next rip and I couldn't fault it at all. It is very reasonably priced too, which is a bit of an anomaly for good restaurants in Amsterdam. To avoid any confusion, this place is more commonly known as En Castell, as well as Barbeque Castell.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We were met at the entrance and instantly fell in love with the place. The minute we arrived our waitress told us there was a 45 minute wait and we could wait at the bar with a drink or choose to come back. We chose to have a lovely bottle of wine and were seated next to the bar. The ambience of the place instantly puts you in a good mood. The vibe is just right.
We got our seat at the bar in lass than the time stated and we werent disappointed. My husband had the T-Bone and jkt potato and I opted for the BBQ ribs. What a feast for the eyes without even tasting it we were hooked. we ate every morsel including the huge jkt potatoes - the only thing being Im not keen on Mayonnaise and the potato was covered in it but I ate it pushing some to the side.
Couldnt have asked for a nicer evening for my husbands birthday. Many thanks Castell x

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Level Contributor
59 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice casual dinning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I went there with my husband any my son. The place is nice but they don't have tables ( like resturant ) they only have sofas with low tables or you can sit around the bar high chairs. Very friendly stuff. As for the food we order smoked eel , escargot, and Indonesian Kabab for starters every thing was delicious. As for main course we toke spare ribs and sirloin steak. The ribs were excellent very well cooked that the meat fell off the bones the steak was a bit chewy I ordered baked potatoes and it was perfect. Reservation is a must.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barbeque Castell also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Barbeque Castell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barbeque Castell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.