We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A star among a sea of tourist traps” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barbeque Castell

Barbeque Castell
Lijnbaansgracht 252-254, 1017 RK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)
020-6228606
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #85 of 2,469 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Belgian, Dutch, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A star among a sea of tourist traps”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We came on the recommendation of tripadvisor and were amazed to be served one of the best meals (steak focused) in the Netherlands. Met by friendly and competent service we made a walk in reservation and were very pleased that the waiter already remembered our name 2hrs later and took my party of four to a prime outside table. On a Saturday night in down town AMS - we had a great location.

The food followed up to the same high standard, with amazing surf & turf (Lobster tail and filletsteak) or the substantial 400g Black Angus Steak... all four dishes cooked to order and delivered. The meat was top quality and certainly in my experience unrivaled in this city - I am out in AMS approx 8 nights a months.

There is a bar area inside that allows for pre or after dinner drinks, which makes BBQ Castell the perfect location for a great night out with friends.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    83
    17
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A diamond surrounded by Rhinestones”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

To find a good restaurant in the city center of Amsterdam you need a magnifier. Before there was trip advisor, I made some bad choices. Not anymore. On this sunny and warm saturdaynight we were looking for a place where they serve top quality steaks. And if you don't know the city you will easily step into one of the bad bad BAD tourist trap steakhouses you see everywhere. Thru Tripadvisor we founf three places. This one was our 2nd choice ( distance) and they had space at 8.30 pm. We arrived on time and the cute and friendly host placed us at a outside table with canal view. A 5 star seating! Our waiter was friendly too. She suggested the Lobster with Filet steak. And so we did. My goodness, this is just perfect! Don't get me wrong, the price is high; € 60 for this surf and turf dish, but both were so tender and full of taste! Will I go back? Oh yes. Will try to find a group of friends to join us so we can use the restaurants boat in the canal in the front. The waiter explained that they use the boat for groups of around10 people. How cute would that be!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Top quality steaks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Big, juicy, chargrilled steak - delicious. Not cheap but worth it for the quality.

We ate at one of the outside tables on a warm evening. Glad we did as indoors it appears you eat on the bar or with your plate on your lap on the sofas.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One of the Best Steaks Ever!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by our hotel. What a great recommendation! My wife and I both had steak and it was easily one of the best we have ever had. The meat was flavorful and tender. The menu is a bit confusing, only showing prices for full bottles of wine, even though they have wines by the glass available. The seating setup is strange, and it is a little pricey, as others have mentioned, but overall it was a good experience worth recommending.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very good ambience ... be aware you'll eat without a table”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Lovely location on the banks of the Canal very close to Leizplein. As you walk in the lighting is low and the atmosphere is cosy. We were seated around a large square chimney (I think) which had long seats around 3 sides. We were a party of 5 but had to squeeze into the corner of two of the seats meaning that conversation was difficult amongst the group. The lighting here was very low and was actually difficult to see all people we were with. Wine list was good but the service was slow. As we were in the corner it was difficult for the waiter to get to us without disrupting our neighboring bench dwellers or shouting. The food is good but all drinks plates etc either rest on the herth of the chimney when not being use or eaten from laps. As the bbq is good the meat lets out a lot of juices which a colleague ended up having all over her. As it was so dark she didn't realise it was spilling until she felt it. Overall nice idea but needs more thinking through. Great place for pre-dinner drinks but perhaps not for a work dinner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barbeque Castell also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Barbeque Castell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barbeque Castell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.