We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT!!!! BEEF GREAT!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barbeque Castell

Barbeque Castell
Lijnbaansgracht 252-254, 1017 RK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)
020-6228606
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #129 of 2,317 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Barbecue, Belgian, Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
MD
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT!!!! BEEF GREAT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

THe portions are good!!! quite expensive but the taste is so well worth it! I got the lamb which was 19 euros and very juicy barley added any sauce to it! very fulfilling meal!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    61
    13
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Best ribs i ever eat anywhere in the world......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Came back to this place after not visiting it for several years.
I have to say that they still have the best ribs i ever had. I travelled around since being here back in the day and i have never had ribs as good as at this place.

The place itself is decorated really nicely and the service was just great. Very friendly people.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Greatest grill!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

If you want to eat the greatest grill in Amst ;) you shoud go here. I had seat in front of grill oven and saw by my eyes how red pieces of uncooked meat became a greatest steaks ;) it is a magic atmosphere there. Most of all i recommend to take a Mix Grill!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiberias, Israel
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great like the first time..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

I would highly recommend this place... great meat and superb staff.
If weather allows you, try to get a sit outside and have a couple of beers until the food arrives.
Never a disappointment.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Saw this recommended on Trip Advisor and so went on speck. It was fully booked but we were told they would fit us in within the hour as there was only two of us. Had a lovely drink sat outside and staff were charming. We were seated within the hour and had the most beautiful steaks sat at the bar. Wonderful atmos, service and food...so good we went again during our stay!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barbeque Castell also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Barbeque Castell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barbeque Castell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.