We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice restaurant, will be back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Akitsu

Akitsu
Rozengracht 228-230, 1016 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
020-6253254
Improve this listing
Ranked #516 of 2,331 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Uithoorn, The Netherlands
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice restaurant, will be back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

By far the best sushi I've had in Amsterdam. We went there for dinner on a Wednesday evening and it was great. The service was really nice (non dutch service, only Japanese), good manners, and very friendly. The food was good, very fresh and tasty (there are some cookers standing behind the bar preparing some dishes, so everybody can see them). There are lots of options for sushi lovers and lots of options for non sushi lovers (I really recommend the California roll.... delicious). Ideal to spend a nice quiet evening in good company and enjoying great Japanese food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    19
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best sushi in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

By far the best sushi I've had in Amsterdam, with nice friendly efficient service. Lots of options for non sushi eaters too.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Superb sushi, at the low tables or for take out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Akitsu serves super fresh sushi, expertly prepared. It's a joy to eat there, especially if you can get to one of the two low tables and sit on the mat - our favourite is the spicy tuna roll - but the tuna and salmon they select for the sashimi is excellent. Try the salad - lovely dressing. Compared to some of top sushi restaurants I've been to in London, New York and Tokyo, I think Akitsu is really among my top ten. It's got a homely feel (slightly overlit but in a way that's part of its charm). Service is attentive but not intrusive.

We'd love to dine more often as it's local to us - but we have small kids, so we compromise and get take out food from here about every 6 weeks. Not cheap, but really worth it - it's an event to unwrap the food at home.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best Sukiyaki”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I want there to eat sukiyaki and I did. The best. I went there with my husband and my son they don't really like Japanese food but I ordered for my husband beef teriyaki which he liked he also tasted my sukiyaki which he also did like. For starters we had 2 rolls of sushi ( tempura roll & California spicy roll) both was ok but hot plates where better, we also ordered spare ribs with teriyaki sauce. The resturant was busy, stuff is helpful but service is too slow.
I will defiantly will go again for sukiyaki.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“One of the best Japanese restaurants in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Akitsu is one of the best restaurants I have been to in Amsterdam in terms of food quality, Japanese or otherwise. It was as delicious as Yamazato, although of course not as refined and a fraction of the price. The fish is really fresh and tasty, the sushi delicious, and the other warm and cold Japanese dishes on the menu are to die for. I loved the Nasu Dengaku - miso glazed aubergine - and the dry fried spare ribs were some of the best I've ever tasted. Seriously, I'm a very picky restaurant goer and this place rocks. The sake list is awesome but leans on the expensive side - although the super cool (and varied!) sake glasses help to make up for it a bit. Service was friendly and decently responsive, very cozy family feel.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akitsu also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Akitsu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akitsu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.