We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Van Beeren

Van Beeren
Koningsstraat 54, 1011 EW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)
+31 20 622 2329
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #81 of 2,482 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Binnenstad
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

From arriving and hoping to get a table for 4, we were looked after by our waitress Andrea until a table was ready for us. The place was buzzing and full of people from different nationalities Drinks were regularly topped up as we sat waiting at the bar, plus we were offered bread and aliole to stop us from starving! When we were seated, Andrea translated the specials board (2 or 3 times!) and recommended an excellent wine. We had excellent food throughout the meal, and a very tasty irish coffee. The atmosphere was great, not too loud, but a very friendly one. Andrea sat down at our table with us to explain all the foods and drinks on offer (something we found to be a norm with Dutch waiters/waitresses), which we found to be a great thing to do. They do have a ginger cat in residence (he's a member of staff!) He does not bother you or go near the food or tables, but if you don't like cats or are allergic, it's just a warning as he is rather cute and friendly. The Van Beeren is the first restaurant I would visit if I was in Amsterdam again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    52
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We were lucky to get a table in here on a Sunday night, however arrived just as they had a cancellation. The atmosphere was great, nice low level lighting and friendly staff. Busy, but not overcrowded or noisy and from what I could tell it was mainly locals. The free bread, olives and water which were brought to the table straight away were a really nice touch. The food was fairly pricey, but delicious and the portions were big so it seemed worth it overall. I had duck liver pate and then vegetarian lasagne both of which were great, however after seeing someone with ribs I now wish I had had that and if I ever go back to Amsterdam, I'll be going back here to try them!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Romantic nook in the heart of the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We were so pleased we came here. After seeing the reviews on TripAdvisor we thought we'd see for ourselves and our high expectations were blown away!

Stepping off a quiet back street we entered this warm and cosy hideaway. It was bustling with customers but the waitress soon found us a spot, no problem. Very friendly and relaxed service, and as for the food... we both had the steak which was exceptional.

This restaurant was truly remarkable - go and see for yourself!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Superb experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Searched out this restaurant on trip advisor with a view to finding an unpretentious eating place with local cuisine during a city break with my husband. Foolishly we had not booked and turned up at 6.45 p.m with an hour to spare before attending a Europa League football match involving Ajax. On a miserable wet mid week February night the place was already full and buzzing with atmosphere. Unfortunately there were no tables but the waitress said she could fit us in in half an hour, which we had to turn down due to our football deadline. As we walked away down the street the waitress ran after us and said someone had just asked for the bill so if we could hang around a few minutes she would fit us in. We gladly returned and proceeded to enjoy a superb meal which the waitresses deliberately rushed through, knowing we had limited time. The quality of food, service and ambiance were outstanding and very reasonably priced. The whole experience has motivated us to plan a return trip to the city so we can enjoy the restaurant at a more leisurely pace. We shall certainly book to make sure next time.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Found this little restaurant a few minutes walk from the Amrath hotel, what a brilliant place. The staff were friendly and welcoming and the food was superb. Relaxed atmosphere and on a Monday night there was a healthy number of customers without it feeling full. A good range of meals at a reasonable price. 16-22 euros for mains. Will come back the next time I visit Amsterdam. Would be great for business or leisure. Oh, and look out for the cat that wanders around..

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van Beeren also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Van Beeren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van Beeren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.