We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Van Beeren

Van Beeren
Koningsstraat 54, 1011 EW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)
020-6222329
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #74 of 2,249 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Binnenstad
Aberdeen
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We were lucky to get a table in here on a Sunday night, however arrived just as they had a cancellation. The atmosphere was great, nice low level lighting and friendly staff. Busy, but not overcrowded or noisy and from what I could tell it was mainly locals. The free bread, olives and water which were brought to the table straight away were a really nice touch. The food was fairly pricey, but delicious and the portions were big so it seemed worth it overall. I had duck liver pate and then vegetarian lasagne both of which were great, however after seeing someone with ribs I now wish I had had that and if I ever go back to Amsterdam, I'll be going back here to try them!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    57
    41
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Romantic nook in the heart of the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We were so pleased we came here. After seeing the reviews on TripAdvisor we thought we'd see for ourselves and our high expectations were blown away!

Stepping off a quiet back street we entered this warm and cosy hideaway. It was bustling with customers but the waitress soon found us a spot, no problem. Very friendly and relaxed service, and as for the food... we both had the steak which was exceptional.

This restaurant was truly remarkable - go and see for yourself!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Superb experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Searched out this restaurant on trip advisor with a view to finding an unpretentious eating place with local cuisine during a city break with my husband. Foolishly we had not booked and turned up at 6.45 p.m with an hour to spare before attending a Europa League football match involving Ajax. On a miserable wet mid week February night the place was already full and buzzing with atmosphere. Unfortunately there were no tables but the waitress said she could fit us in in half an hour, which we had to turn down due to our football deadline. As we walked away down the street the waitress ran after us and said someone had just asked for the bill so if we could hang around a few minutes she would fit us in. We gladly returned and proceeded to enjoy a superb meal which the waitresses deliberately rushed through, knowing we had limited time. The quality of food, service and ambiance were outstanding and very reasonably priced. The whole experience has motivated us to plan a return trip to the city so we can enjoy the restaurant at a more leisurely pace. We shall certainly book to make sure next time.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Found this little restaurant a few minutes walk from the Amrath hotel, what a brilliant place. The staff were friendly and welcoming and the food was superb. Relaxed atmosphere and on a Monday night there was a healthy number of customers without it feeling full. A good range of meals at a reasonable price. 16-22 euros for mains. Will come back the next time I visit Amsterdam. Would be great for business or leisure. Oh, and look out for the cat that wanders around..

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travellernick121
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Perfect birthday meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Took my friend for his birthday last weekend, which was our final night in Amsterdam after reading the reviews here. Wasn't really sure what to expect from the outside, but wish we went there every evening to sample the different delights of the menu.

Got there, and as with most places in Amsterdam, it was busy and booked up, so we sat at the bar. I almost prefer this though since you get better service.

We were going to have a starter, main and dessert, but the waitress warned us that it was quite filling.

So we started with a mushrooms stuffed with garlic stuffed with snails. The bread to dip it up was gorgeous and better than anything I've had in France. Then the main was half a ribs served with chips which was plenty - saw someone next to us struggle with a whole rack so was glad to have chosen half! The ribs were divine and just fell off the bone.

We had struck up a bit of a conversation with the waitress behind the bar and we said it was a birthday meal, so when our desserts came up, it came with a candle and the whole restaurant struck up a chorus of Happy Birthday!

It was a lovely end to a great holiday.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van Beeren also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Been to Van Beeren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van Beeren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.