We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in typical Amsterdam-style restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Balraj

Balraj
Haarlemmerdijk 28, 1013 JD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020-6251428
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,421 of 2,244 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food in typical Amsterdam-style restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Balraj is a small Indian restaurant. One of the oldest in town. It has a lay-out that's typical for Amsterdam called 'pijpela' (literally drawer for pipes) which means that it is a long and narrow place with two rows of tables and a corridor in the middle, It's situated at the Haarlemmerdijk which is a very nice, lively street. Balraj is visited by a mix of locals and tourists and it's always crowded, so making a reservation is a must. It has a nice not to long menu with several all time Indian favourites. Especially the tandoori dishes are recommendable. The service is excellent and friendly, so are the prices.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

67% Recommend
    17
    11
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sao Jose Dos Campos, SP
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great place to get your curry fix”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The food was pretty good! Didn't get the feeling they like tourists that much (the owner clearly greeted the local clients differently). However, I thought the service was good too and that they were very polite. Would definitely go back for more!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“The better Indian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Good variety of Indian dishes all served with naan bread, rice and daal. Vegetarian for under €13. Now my first choice when in the area and looking for quick dinner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good restaurant in the CityCenter of Amsterdam”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I went to this restaurant in January 2013 and it was OK. I mean the decor/design were "OK" it did not remind me this comfy feeling of India and their spices. Also, the meal was "OK" not excellent for the reviews I had read on TripAdvisor. Their price were very good for INDIAN FOOD in the NETHERLANDS but still expensive compared to other countries. The price was a little less compared to the other Indian restaurant located far from the downtown.
Service: They were nice and friendly with a smile on their face.
Good side: When you finish your rice plate you can ask for more without extra charges.
Music: Not very attractive for their theme - Indian food.

Overall, I can recommend this restaurant even though it is not making you travel to India at 100%. As mentioned previously, their range of price are better for an Indian restaurant located in the heart of the city, Amsterdam.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Needed a Curry. Hit the spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

I was craving a curry while walking around Amsterdam. Took the "travellers' wager" and walked in. I wasn't disappointed. The right amount of spice, good but not too broad a selection, friendly service.

Meals include a small daal, peas, and rice plus a roti. Enough to fill you, warm you and send you on your way. I'd go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balraj also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Balraj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balraj, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.