We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice ethiopian food and athmosphere, but have had better!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Axum

Axum
Utrechtsedwarsstraat 85, 1017 WD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)
020-6228389
Improve this listing
Ranked #365 of 2,445 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Heerhugowaard
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice ethiopian food and athmosphere, but have had better!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

The restaurant had a cosy ethiopian athomsphere, also the food was solid ethiopian staple food with good injera basis. Only my favourite sauce of them all, shiro wot, was a disappointment, therefore one minus point.

But for anyone wanting to experience an african meal, but not necessarily being fond of very spicy food, a good place to start.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    5
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Memorable food and atmospere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Highly recommended for unusual and delicious food as well as an intimate and friendly atmosphere. We felt as though we were eating in someone's home rather than an impersonal restaurant. The food was full of flavour, fragrant with a touch of spice, and very reasonably priced. Try the wonderful Ethiopian coffee - rich and aromatic. A real find.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Traditional Ethiopian which aint bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

If you are looking for something different and yiu have never tried Ethiopian food give this a go. You eat with you hands to its best to wash them before your food arrives.

We had a lamb stew, a beef dish and spicy fish dish. Its is all served with a giant pancake/crepe thingy which vegetables, pickles and other assorted accompanying dishes are placed.

The lamb was a bit fatty, but tasty. The beef was good and the fish was excellent. It was all accompanied by a nice bottle of Malbec La Linda which is one of my favourites and was not overpriced.

It would have been even nicer if the service was a bit better.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Excellent small Ethiopian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

My wife, son and I went to Axum for dinner during a recent trip to Amsterdam. We were very overjoyed as the food was excellent and the lady serving, cooking and everything else was very kind and helpful. We will definitely go back.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“So very unusual for us”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

This was our first Ethiopian food experience and we loved it. If you want a quick meal, this may not be the place for you. The food was so different to what we normally have at home and it is a very relaxed wee eating place. Go there and experience something totally unique. 111 euros for one course for 8 of us, including a drink each, which we thought was very reasonable. Would definitely go back for more if we visit Amsterdam again.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Axum also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Axum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Axum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.