We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good we ate there twice in one week” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Axum

Axum
Utrechtsedwarsstraat 85, 1017 WD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)
020-6228389
Improve this listing
Ranked #537 of 2,395 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Oakland, CA
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“So good we ate there twice in one week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

A mother-daughter operation - we happened on this little place off Utrechtstraat - greeted warmly, left to ponder the menu. Ordered beers and waited for our food. Noticed everyone else's food looked and smelled really good. We tried a goulash-like stew which she made not-too-spicy for us, a minced lamb stew that was on the bland/mild side; but the second time we came our server recommended a more interesting, well-seasoned but not spicy lamb dish and along with the spicy beef in red sauce we had no trouble eating everything. Because everything is made for you when you order, it might seem to some that service is slow - it isn't really - just enjoy and relax. You will be rewarded!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    5
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lugano, Switzerland
1 review
“Delicious food, great hospitality, excellent memory - a small tour into ethiopia!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

We are walking around the neighborhoods of Fredericksplein and ended up at this restaurant by chance. It was an amazing discovery. The food is extremely delicious. The lady who owns the place is very nice. She customized the food to our requirements, replacing milk with other delicious ingredients. We spent a long time talking about ethiopia with her. It's not Dutch, but it's definitely one of the fond memories we brought back from Amsterdam! Highly recommend this place,

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Less than anticipated.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

This review is based on 23 years experience of enjoying Ethiopian restaurants in many countries and cities. The decor was pleasant and comfortable. The service was unexpected for Ethiopian restaurants, the waitress was unengaged and the guest was expected to spoon his own stews onto the platter.

Taste wise, we ordered Doro Wat, Lamp Tebs, Shiro Wat & a salad. The Doro Wat was fair but needed a bit more berber & was stingy withbonly a half egg. The Shiro Wat was like none other I've had, thin like runny soup and barely deserving of the flavor moniker "Wat." From the few Tebs provided, I can safely say they need improvement to before being even an "average" dish at a typical Ethiopian restaurant. On a bright note, the injera did incorporate some teff into it's batter and had plenty of effervescent eyes, although still very little sourness.

Overall, I can't recommend this Axum restaurant to anyone who has never tried Ethiopian cuisine before because it is not typical of the service and wonderful flavors one should expectbin this cuisine. For the more experienced Ethiopian restaurant guest, I would search finer fare else ware in Amsterdam.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A memorable night on Utrechtsestraat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

If you appreciate true ethnic food, you must go there! Absolutely fabulous food, you must try the Duba (pumpkin) and the En qudis (creamy mushroom) and Lamb stew. All fabulous dishes! It is in the center of town and an easy walk Rembrantplein and very close to Amstelveld. If you want to get away from the tourist traps, this is a great find.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury Uk
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Excellent hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

We chose Axum as it was in the same street we were staying and we hadn't eaten Ethopian food before.

Really lovely friendly staff who helped us through the menu. The food was fantastic - it was hot so if you like milder food be sure to check first.

Great atmosphere, felt untouristy and was clearly frequented by locals who knew a good thing when they found it.

Recommended!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Axum also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Axum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Axum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.