We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tasty and lively Tex/Mex restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alfonso's

Alfonso's
Utrechtsestraat 32, 1017VN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))
020-6259426
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #562 of 2,762 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Bruxelles
Level Contributor
73 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A tasty and lively Tex/Mex restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Located in the centre of Amsterdam, in a street where many good restaurants can be found.
If you like tex/mex, the food is really good, as is the service. The place is rather small and quickly full at meal times, so its good to arrive early or to book a table. Compared to Brussels, where we live, it is rather expensive, as are most restaurants in Amsterdam. Warning: its a steep climb up to the restrooms on the first floor… not advised for elder persons and/or persons with a walking difficulty.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick6703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Nice location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is in a street with so much choice for foodies. We fancied something a bit different on our last night in Amsterdam. Looked good from outside , huge cactus in the window. We were shown to a table at rhe back personally a table at the front would have been nicer. Service was swift, had starters and mains. Enchiladas to start which were ok , just warm, burritos for mains, now I don't eat a great deal of Mexican food so maybe my choice led to my disappointment as they were similar type dishes , very heavy , the burritos had spicy chicken in , not that spicy and again merely warm, the refried beans again were tepid. Some other customers had the fajitas which did look good and were sizzling. That did look a better choice. The whole cost incl drinks was about 70 euro. All in all ok but nothing special.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank KLBOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fajitas with a lamb twist”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We recently revisited this cozy, friendly spot after a 25 year absence. We had no reservations on a Thursday evening in September, but got a table after a reasonably short wait. Coming from the city where fajitas were invented (no, it's not a Mexican creation), we were impressed with the lamb fajitas, which were easily eaten despite the bone in one piece. We washed it down with a pair of margaritas, which were sour and tasted of bad tequila. The service and the ambience were excellent. At 45 euros just for the 2 fajita plates and a single guacamole dip, and a total bill of 80 euros including a small, drink-money tip, Alfonso's, like many other popular spots in the city, has become a little too pricy for our retired pocketbook.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dantexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Still great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We visited this Mexican restaurant several years ago and hunted it out again. Still a friendly place with good food at reasonable prices.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MaryClive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mexico in Amsterdam....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Have been remiss for not posting this the past several years....we are ex-pats living in Mexico this past 22 years and would be hard pressed to remember having a Mexican meal better than I found in Alfonso's.....it's a very special place which we love to take our friends who live in Amsterdam...food is not only fantastic but the service matches it perfectly ....

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bajajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alfonso's also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Alfonso's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing